Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

Rich in Love Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

The final installment of what might be called [[Performer~P81500~Bruce Beresford~bruceberesford]]'s southern trilogy (the other films being [[Feature~V11533~Crimes of the Heart~crimesoftheheart]] and [[Feature~V14828~Driving Miss Daisy~drivingmissdaisy]]) examines a disintegrating Southern family. The Odom family live in an elegant mansion, where Warren ([[Performer~P23545~Albert Finney~albertfinney]]) is retired and spends the days puttering around the house. One day, his daughter, a high school honor student named Lucille ([[Performer~P21972~Kathryn Erbe~kathrynerbe]]) finds a letter written by her mother Helen ([[Performer~P13546~Jill Clayburgh~jillclayburgh]]) declaring her intentions of leaving the family. Quickly re-writing the letter to remove the harsh words, she finishes it just in time for Warren to read it. Warren is crestfallen at the news of Helen's departure, telling her, "Lucille, I feel knocked off my perch about this." Warren descents into a depression as she and Warren await the return of Helen. After it becomes apparent Helen is not returning, Lucille drops out of high school to care for the home and her father, while Warren strikes up a relationship with available widow Vera Delmage ([[Performer~P40813~Piper Laurie~piperlaurie]]). But then Lucille's no-nonsense older sister, Rae ([[Performer~P1389~Suzy Amis~suzyamis]]) arrives with her husband Billy McQueen ([[Performer~P44254~Kyle MacLachlan~kylemaclachlan]]). Rae is pregnant and announces her intention of staying for awhile. ~ Paul Brenner, Rovi

Cast

Albert Finney
as Warren Odom
Jill Clayburgh
as Helen Odom
Kathryn Erbe
as Lucille Odom
Kyle MacLachlan
as Billy McQueen
Piper Laurie
as Vera Delmage
Ethan Hawke
as Wayne Frobiness
Suzy Amis
as Rae Odom
Alfre Woodard
as Rhody Poole
Shari Rhodes
Janell McLeod
as Bookstore Clerk
Wayne de Hart
as Sam Poole

Crew

Bruce Beresford
Director
Richard D. Zanuck
Producer
Lili Fini Zanuck
Producer
Josephine Humphreys
Book Author
Alfred Uhry
Screenwriter
Georges Delerue
Composer (Music Score)
Mark Warner
Editor
John Stoddart
Production Designer
Gary Daigler
Co-producer
David Brown
Co-producer
John H. Anderson
Set Designer
Colleen Kelsall
Costume Designer
Steve Maslow
Sound/Sound Designer
Roger Lifsey
Special Effects
Erich Roland
Camera Operator
Advertisement