Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

Reunion in France Details


Better known as Reunion in France, this women's-magazine-style romantic melodrama was the first major production for director Jules Dassin -- who was promptly demoted back to the MGM "B" department when the picture tanked at the box office. Joan Crawford stars as Frenchwoman Michele de la Becque, who comes to believe that her fiancé, wealthy munitions manufacturer Robert Cortot (Philip Dorn) is a Nazi collaborator. When her suspicions are apparently corroborated, Michelle falls in love with Pat Talbot (John Wayne), a downed American aviator stranded in occupied Paris. Only then does Michelle discover that she's been all wrong about Cortot -- but what to do about Talbot, who has been marked for death by the Gestapo? Ava Gardner has a tiny role as a Parisian shopgirl. ~ Hal Erickson, Rovi


Joan Crawford
as Michele de la Becque
John Wayne
as Pat Talbot
Philip Dorn
as Robert Corlot
Reginald Owen
as Schultz
Albert Basserman
as Gen. Hugo Schroeder
John Carradine
as Ulrich Windler
Ann Ayars
as Juliette
J. Edward Bromberg
as Durand
Moroni Olsen
as Paul Grebeau
Henry Daniell
as Emile Fleuron
Howard Da Silva
as Anton Stregel
Charles Arnt
as Honore
Morris Ankrum
as Martin
Edith Evanson
as Genevieve
Odette Myrtil
as Mme. Montanot
Peter Whitney
as Soldier with Candy
Natalie Schafer
as Frau Schroder
Jo Gilbert
as Brunhilde
Lester Sharpe
as Warden
Jean del Val
as Porter
Arthur Space
as Henker
Adolph Milar
as Gestapo Agent
Ann Codee
as Rosalie
Felix Basch
as Pawnbroker
Gayne Whitman
as Maitre d'Hotel
Harry Adams
as Mons. Clemens
William Edmunds
as Driver
George Calliga
as Mons. Bertheil
Arno Frey
as Guide
Ernst Deutsch
as Captain
Jacqueline White
as Danielle
Michael Visaroff
as Vigouroux
Joel Friedkin
as Frenchman
Paul Weigel
as Old Man
Philip Van Zandt
as Customer
Louis Mercier
as Conductor
Henry Kolker
as Gen. Bartholomae
Ed Rickard
as Chauffeur
Barbara Bedford
as Mme. Vigouroux
Bob Stevenson
as Emile
Claudia Drake
as Girl
Carl Ekberg
Ava Gardner
as Bit Part


Jules Dassin
Joseph L. Mankiewicz
Charles Hoffman
Marvin Borowsky
Jan Lustig
Marc Connelly
Robert Planck
Franz Waxman
Composer (Music Score)
Cedric Gibbons
Art Director
Edwin B. Willis
Set Designer
Henry W. Grace
Set Designer
Costume Designer
Warren Newcombe
Special Effects