Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

Return to Peyton Place Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

If anything, this star-studded sequel is even sillier than the original, adding to its problems by completely recasting all the roles, combining several of them into existing characters. [[Performer~P43963~Carol Lynley~carollynley]] is the heroine this time, and she leaves Peyton Place for New York to write a book about the hypocrisy of her hometown. The book causes lots of trouble back home, getting Mike ([[Performer~P68044~Robert Sterling~robertsterling]]) fired as principal, angering Lynley's mother ([[Performer~P55087~Eleanor Parker~eleanorparker]]), and stirring such horrible memories in Selena ([[Performer~P75377~Tuesday Weld~tuesdayweld]]) that she brains her new boyfriend with a fireplace poker, thinking he is her dead rapist stepfather. The film really belongs to [[Performer~P2657~Mary Astor~maryastor]], in a hilarious turn as a smotheringly possessive mother. She tries to come between her son and his new bride ([[Performer~P54873~Luciana Paluzzi~lucianapaluzzi]]) in some unintentionally hilarious scenes, causing [[Performer~P54873~Paluzzi~lucianapaluzzi]] to fling herself down a ski slope in an attempt at a self-induced miscarriage. Overwrought and overblown, the film is still a treat for fans of campy "suburban sin" melodramas. Look for [[Performer~P15609~Bob Crane~bobcrane]] as an unctuous talk show sidekick. ~ Robert Firsching, Rovi

Cast

Carol Lynley
as Allison MacKenzie
Jeff Chandler
as Lewis Jackman
Eleanor Parker
as Connie Rossi
Mary Astor
as Roberta Carter
Tuesday Weld
as Selena Cross
Robert Sterling
as Mike Rossi
Luciana Paluzzi
as Raffaella Carter
Gunnar Hellstrom
as Nils
Brett Halsey
as Ted Carter
Kenneth MacDonald
as Dexter
Bob Crane
as Peter White
Tim Durant
as John Smith
Casey Adams
as Nick Parker
Warren Parker
as Lupus Wolf
Arthur Peterson
as Selectman
Joan Banks
as Mrs. Humphries
Emerson Treacy
as Bud Humphries
Wilton Graff
as Dr. Fowlkes
Hari (Harry) Rhodes
as Arthur
Reedy Talton
as Frank O'Roark
Jack Carr
as Postman
Tony Miller
as Photographer
Max Mellinger
as Nevins
Collette Lyons
as Mrs. Bingham
Helen Bennett
as Interviewer
Charles Seel
as Counterman

Crew

José Ferrer
Director
Jerry Wald
Producer
Grace Metalious
Book Author
Charles G. Clarke
Cinematographer
Paul Francis Webster
Songwriter
Leonid Raab
Musical Direction/Supervision
Franz Waxman
Composer (Music Score)
Rosemary Clooney
Songwriter
David Bretherton
Editor
Jack Martin Smith
Art Director
Hans Peters
Art Director
Curtis Harrington
Associate Producer
Walter Scott
Set Designer
Bernard Freericks
Sound/Sound Designer
Advertisement