Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

Relative Values Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

Adapted for the screen from the 1951 play that revived playwright [[Performer~P86099~Noel Coward~noëlcoward]]'s flagging reputation, Relative Values is another wit-laden addition to the English comedy of manners ouevre. Set sometime during the mid-20th century, the film opens on the French Riviera, where nebbish English aristocrat Nigel ([[Performer~P222918~Edward Atterton~edwardatterton]]) has just announced his engagement to vulgar American movie star Miranda Frayle ([[Performer~P71818~Jeanne Tripplehorn~jeannetripplehorn]]). Nigel's news dismays both his mother, Felicity ([[Performer~P1721~Julie Andrews~julieandrews]]), and Miranda's former lover, fellow screen icon Don Lucas ([[Performer~P3536~William Baldwin~williambaldwin]]). Felicity manages to strap on a stiff upper lip while Don drowns his sorrows in booze and flees to England. Meanwhile, Felicity's personal assistant Moxie ([[Performer~P70749~Sophie Thompson~sophiethompson]]) makes the rather startling announcement that Miranda is her estranged younger sister. Everything looks set to go pear-shaped until Felicity's cunning butler Crestwell (the ever-cunning [[Performer~P25206~Stephen Fry~stephenfry]]) comes up with an ingenious plan that will turn the tables in Moxie's favor. After Nigel returns to his mother's estate with Miranda in tow, Crestwell's plan is complicated by the unexpected arrival of an inebriated Don at a dinner party that Felicity is throwing for the engaged couple. ~ Rebecca Flint Marx, Rovi

Cast

Sophie Thompson
as Moxie
Edward Atterton
as Nigel
Jeanne Tripplehorn
as Miranda Frayle
William Baldwin
as Don Lucas
Colin Firth
as Peter
Stephen Fry
as Crestwell
Gaye Brown
as Lady Hayling
Michael Culkin
as Ludmurrey, Lord
Stephanie Beacham
as Elizabeth
Julie Andrews
as Felicity

Crew

Eric Styles
Director
Noël Coward
Play Author
Jimmy Dibling
Cinematographer
John Debney
Composer (Music Score)
Caroline Limmer
Editor
Humphrey Jaeger
Production Designer
Nic Ede
Costume Designer
Amanda Mackey-Johnson
Casting
Celestia Fox
Casting
Advertisement