Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: Now

Red Cliff Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

Legendary Hong Kong action specialist [[Performer~P117248~John Woo~johnwoo]] and international superstar [[Performer~P198096~Tony Leung~tonyleungchiuwai]] reunite for their first feature film together since 1992's [[Feature~V21553~Hard-Boiled~hardboiled]] with this historical drama set during the decisive 208 A.D. battle that heralded the end of the Han Dynasty. Adapted in part from the beloved Chinese tome Romance of the Three Kingdoms, Red Cliff opens in the year 208 A.D., just as prime minister-turned-general Cao Cao ([[Performer~P129950~Zhang Fengyi~zhangfengyi]]) seeks permission from Han Dynasty emperor Xian ([[Performer~P233132~Wang Ning~wangning]]) to organize a southward-bound mission designed to silence troublesome warlords Liu Bei ([[Performer~P237806~You Yong~youyong]]) and Sun Quan ([[Performer~P12652~Chang Chen~changchen]]). As the expedition gets under way, Cao Cao's troops rain destruction on Liu Bei's army, forcing the latter to retreat and convincing Liu Bei's military strategist Zhuge Liang ([[Performer~P196460~Takeshi Kaneshiro~takeshikaneshiro]]) that their only hope for victory is to form an alliance with Sun Quan. Increasingly aware of the monumental struggle ahead, both sides begin preparing for the battle that will ultimately shape the future of an entire nation. Originally envisioned as a single epic, Red Cliff was eventually split into two parts due to an excessive running time that approached five hours. [[Feature~V509682~Red Cliff, Part I~redcliffparti]] and [[Feature~V478479~Red Cliff, Part II~redcliffpartii]] were edited together for theatrical release in the United States as a stand-alone film running nearly two and a half hours. ~ Jason Buchanan, Rovi

  • Release date:November 20, 2009

Crew

John Woo
Director
John Woo
Producer
Terence Chang
Producer
Kuo Cheng
Screenwriter
John Woo
Screenwriter
Sheng Heyu
Screenwriter
Guo Zheng
Screenwriter
Lu Yue
Cinematographer
Zhang Li
Cinematographer
Taro Iwashiro
Composer (Music Score)
Robert A. Ferretti
Editor
David Wu
Editor
Angie Lam
Editor
Ryuhei Chiba
Executive Producer
John Woo
Executive Producer
Dennis Wu
Executive Producer
Tim Yip
Costume Designer
Corey Yuen
Second Unit Director
Patrick Leung
Second Unit Director
Rick Nathanson
Line Producer
Advertisement

Other movies like this