Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

Ready to Rumble Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

A pair of sewage-truck drivers attempt to rescue the tarnished reputation of their favorite pro wrestler in this comedy from [[Feature~V174353~Varsity Blues~varsityblues]] director [[Performer~P60530~Brian Robbins~brianrobbins]]. Gordie Boggs ([[Performer~P2421~David Arquette~davidarquette]]) and Sean Dawkins ([[Performer~P195366~Scott Caan~scottcaan]]) live vicariously through superstar grappler Jimmy King ([[Performer~P57054~Oliver Platt~oliverplatt]]). But when King's manager ([[Performer~P54919~Joe Pantoliano~joepantoliano]]), in a fit of ego, arranges to have his client dethroned to make way for the next hot property, the guys hatch a plan to force a rematch. The only problem is, their no-good hero has sunk into a black hole of self-pity and liquor. Enlisting the help of old-time trainer Sal ([[Performer~P40247~Martin Landau~martinlandau]]) to whip "The King" into shape, Gordie and Sean run afoul of Gordie's father, who wants his son to settle down and become a cop like him. Meanwhile, curvaceous Sasha ([[Performer~P47490~Rose McGowan~rosemcgowan]]) moves in on Gordie, but has ulterior motives. So does The King's son ([[Performer~P277170~Tait Smith~taitsmith]]), who's willing to put his girth to good use in order to exact revenge on his dad for abandoning him. Ready to Rumble features a large cast of real-life WCW wrestlers portraying themselves. [[Performer~P47490~McGowan~rosemcgowan]] and [[Performer~P2421~Arquette~davidarquette]] previously appeared together in [[Performer~P86179~Wes Craven~wescraven]]'s [[Feature~V136657~Scream~scream]]. [[Performer~P2422~Lewis Arquette~lewisarquette]], the star's father, also appears alongside his son as he did in [[Feature~V158873~Scream 2~scream2]]. ~ Brian J. Dillard, Rovi

  • Release date:April 7, 2000

Crew

Brian Robbins
Director
Herbert W. Gains
Producer
Bobby Newmyer
Producer
Jeffrey Silver
Producer
Steven Brill
Screenwriter
Clark Mathis
Cinematographer
Buzz Feitshans IV
Cinematographer
Leor Dimant
Songwriter
Vince Neil
Songwriter
Eddie Van Halen
Songwriter
Tommy Lee
Songwriter
Kid Rock
Songwriter
Mick Mars
Songwriter
Nikki Sixx
Songwriter
Alex Van Halen
Songwriter
Dexter Holland
Songwriter
George S. Clinton
Composer (Music Score)
George S. Clinton
Songwriter
John Houlihan
Musical Direction/Supervision
Ned Bastille
Editor
Cindy Mollo
Editor
Jaymes Hinkle
Production Designer
Alan Muraoka
Art Director
John Gatins
Co-producer
Scott Strauss
Co-producer
Susan E. Novick
Associate Producer
Steven E. Reuther
Executive Producer
Mike Tollin
Executive Producer
Carla Curry
Set Designer
Mark Poll
Set Designer
Carla Curry
Set Decorator
Carol Ramsey
Costume Designer
Oscar Mitt
Sound/Sound Designer
Ed Novick
Sound/Sound Designer
Benjamin Rosenberg
First Assistant Director
Joe Bucaro III
Stunts
Scott Workman
Stunts
John Cenatiempo
Stunts
Lane Leavitt
Stunts
Marci Liroff
Casting
Joe Gareri
Visual Effects
Pamela March
First Assistant Editor
David Grimaldi
Sound Effects Editor
Bob Wiatr
Digital Effects Compositor
Buzz Feitshans IV
Second Unit Director
Buzz Feitshans IV
Second Unit Director Of Photography
Hilary Schroeder
First Assistant Editor
Joel Kramer
Second Unit Director
Joel Kramer
Stunts Coordinator
Margaret Liu
First Assistant Editor
Jeff Lingle
Assistant Music Editor
Herbert W. Gains
Unit Production Manager
Jeri Baker
Hair Styles
Bryan Ashford
Dolly Grip
Michael Broomberg
Foley Artist
Susan E. Novick
Second Unit Director
Helena Lea
Music Editor
John Hinkle
Painter
Brian Hanable
Digital Effects Compositor
James Reedy
Special Effects Foreman
Josephine Nericcio
Assistant Sound Editor
Marina Marit
Costume/Wardrobe
David Sosalla
Visual Effects
Bryan Booth
Best Boy Electric
Robin Luce
Makeup
Elizabeth Kenton
Supervising ADR Editor
Advertisement