Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: Now

Ransom Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

[[Performer~P94983~Ron Howard~ronhoward]] directed this thriller which stars [[Performer~P91479~Mel Gibson~melgibson]] as Tom Mullen, a former fighter pilot who built a ramshackle one-plane airline into a major multinational service fleet. Mullen has a multi-million dollar fortune, a beautiful wife, Kate ([[Performer~P62287~Rene Russo~renerusso]]) and a nine-year-old son, Sean ([[Performer~P215899~Brawley Nolte~brawleynolte]]) that he dotes on. However, Mullen's life comes crashing down around him when Sean is kidnapped. The FBI are called in, but Mullen is wary -- he was the recent target of an FBI investigation in which he was found to have bribed union officials while negotiating a contract. FBI Agent Hawkins ([[Performer~P42509~Delroy Lindo~delroylindo]]) advises Mullen to make the $2 million dollar drop to pay the kidnappers, which will make it easier to track the criminals, but when the tradeoff goes wrong, Mullen takes a new tactic -- he goes on television and offers a $2 million bounty for the heads of the people who kidnapped his child. Meanwhile, it becomes clear the kidnappers include Maris Connor ([[Performer~P70063~Lili Taylor~lilitaylor]]), who once worked for the Mullens, and Jimmy Shaker ([[Performer~P111667~Gary Sinise~garysinise]]), one of the cops who investigated Mullen for bribery. This remake of the 1956 [[Performer~P24236~Glenn Ford~glennford]] vehicle of the same name was scripted by [[Performer~P107080~Richard Price~richardprice]], who has a bit part as a police detective. ~ Mark Deming, Rovi

  • Release date:November 8, 1996

Cast

Mel Gibson
as Tom Mullen
Rene Russo
as Kate Mullen
Brawley Nolte
as Sean Mullen
Gary Sinise
as Jimmy Shaker
Delroy Lindo
as Agent Lonnie Hawkins
Lili Taylor
as Maris Connor
Liev Schreiber
as Clark Barnes
Donnie Wahlberg
as Cubby Barnes
Evan Handler
as Miles Roberts
John Ortiz
as Roberto
Michael Gaston
as Agent Jack Sickler
Nancy Ticotin
as Agent Kimba Welch
Paul Guilfoyle
as Wallace
Dan Hedaya
as Jackie Brown
Donna Hanover
José Zuñiga
as David Torres

Crew

Ron Howard
Director
Scott Rudin
Producer
B. Kipling Hagopian
Producer
Brian Grazer
Producer
Richard Price
Screenwriter
Alexander Ignon
Screenwriter
Cyril Hume
Screen Story
Richard Maibaum
Screen Story
Piotr Sobocinski
Cinematographer
James Horner
Composer (Music Score)
Michael Corenblith
Production Designer
John Kasarda
Art Director
Adam Schroeder
Co-producer
Susan Merzbach
Co-producer
Louisa Velis
Associate Producer
Aldric La'Auli Porter
Associate Producer
Todd Hallowell
Executive Producer
Susan Bode-Tyson
Set Designer
Rita Ryack
Costume Designer
Danny Michael
Sound/Sound Designer
Aldric La'Auli Porter
First Assistant Director
Janet Hirshenson
Casting
Jane Jenkins
Casting
Robert "Bobby Z" Zajonc
Pilot
Billy Corgan
Musical Performer
Advertisement