Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

Raising Victor Vargas Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

Victor ([[Performer~P357944~Victor Rasuk~victorrasuk]]), a horny teenager living on Manhattan's Lower East Side, has an afternoon rendezvous with a girl known as "Fat Donna" ([[Performer~P322475~Donna Maldonado~donnamaldonado]]). When his sister, Vicki ([[Performer~P322472~Krystal Rodriguez~krystalrodriguez]]), finds out about it, she spreads word throughout the neighborhood, severely damaging what Victor thinks is his reputation. Then he and his best friend, Harold ([[Performer~P322473~Kevin Rivera~kevinrivera]]) visit the public pool, where Victor spots the lovely Judy ([[Performer~P322468~Judy Marte~judymarte]]), known locally as "Juicy Judy," and he decides to salvage his good name by pursuing her. While Judy is standoffish, Harold has better luck with her friend, Melonie ([[Performer~P322469~Melonie Diaz~meloniediaz]] of [[Feature~V237116~Double Whammy~doublewhammy]]). Judy's shy younger brother, Carlos ([[Performer~P322474~Wilfree Vasquez~wilfreevasquez]]) agrees to help Victor get close to Judy if Victor will introduce him to Vicki. As Victor clumsily, but doggedly pursues her, Judy decides to let Victor think he's her boyfriend, in the hope that his presence will discourage neighborhood boys from harassing her all the time. Victor's strict grandmother ([[Performer~P322470~Altagracia Guzman~altagraciaguzman]]) is furious when she learns that Victor introduced Vicki to a boy, and she also worries about his influence on his goody-two-shoes younger brother, Nino ([[Performer~P357944~Rasuk~victorrasuk]]'s real-life brother [[Performer~P322471~Silvestre~silvestrerasuk]]). Writer/director [[Performer~P322611~Peter Sollett~petersollett]]'s feature debut is an expansion of his original short, Five Feet High and Rising, which featured many of the same actors. [[Performer~P322611~Sollett~petersollett]] had his mostly non-professional cast improvise much of their dialogue. Raising Victor Vargas was shot by [[Performer~P268369~Tim Orr~timorr]], who also lensed [[Performer~P281321~David Gordon Green~davidgordongreen]]'s feature debut, [[Feature~V198496~George Washington~georgewashington]]. Raising Victor Vargas was shown at the 2003 Sundance Film Festival and at New Directors/New Films. ~ Josh Ralske, Rovi

  • Release date:March 28, 2003

Awards

Awarded by
Nominee
Category
Year
Status
Independent Spirit Awards Judy Marte Best Debut Performance 2003 Nominee
Independent Spirit Awards Peter Sollett Best Director 2003 Nominee
Independent Spirit Awards Peter Sollett Best First Screenplay 2003 Nominee
Independent Spirit Awards Victor Rasuk Best Debut Performance 2003 Nominee
Independent Spirit Awards Eva Vives Best First Screenplay 2003 Nominee

Cast

Victor Rasuk
as Victor Vargas
Judy Marte
as 'Juicy' Judy Ramirez
Melonie Diaz
as Melonie
Altagracia Guzman
as Grandma
Silvestre Rasuk
as Nino Vargas
Krystal Rodriguez
as Vicki Vargas
Wilfree Vasquez
as Carlos
Donna Maldonado
as Fat Donna

Crew

Peter Sollett
Director
Peter Sollett
Producer
Scott Macaulay
Producer
Robin O'Hara
Producer
Alain de la Mata
Producer
Eva Vives
Screen Story
Peter Sollett
Screen Story
Peter Sollett
Screenwriter
Tim Orr
Cinematographer
Roy Nathanson
Composer (Music Score)
Jean-Michel Dissard
Associate Producer
Vincent Maraval
Executive Producer
Jill Newell
Costume Designer
Carrie Fix
First Assistant Director
Ulysses Torrero
Casting
Cate Wilson
Line Producer
Advertisement