Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

Quick Change Details


Bill Murray co-directed (along with Howard Franklin) this mixture of The Out-of-Towners and After Hours, concerning Grimm (Bill Murray), a frustrated city planner who is fed up with the corruption and venality of New York City. Getting together a couple of accomplices -- Phyllis (Geena Davis), who admires Grimm for his audacity, and Loomis (Randy Quaid), a follower to Grimm's leader since grade school -- Grimm decides to rob a bank, pocket the money, get out of town and take off to tropical splendor. Dressing in a clown suit, Grimm devises a unique way to rob a bank -- taking a group of hostages at the bank and inviting the police to surround the bank. Amazingly, although pursued by a police chief (Jason Robards), the trio manage to pull off the robbery. However, the problems really start when they try to get from the bank to the airport -- which proves to be more difficult than the robbery. ~ Paul Brenner, Rovi

  • Release date:April 27, 1990


Bill Murray
as Grimm
Geena Davis
as Phyllis
Randy Quaid
as Loomis
Jason Robards, Jr.
as Chief Rotzinger
Bob Elliott
as Bank Guard
Philip Bosco
as Lou
Tony Shalhoub
as Cab Driver
Jamey Sheridan
as Mugger
Stanley Tucci
as Johnny
Bill Raymond
as Policeman
Victor Argo
as Skelton
Reg E. Cathey
as Sound Analyst
Justin Ross
as Airline Clerk
Kurtwood Smith
as Lombino/"Russ Crane"
Barbara Flynn
as Hostage
Kathryn Grody
as Mrs. Edison
Paul Herman
as Interrogating Policeman
Anthony Bishop
as Street Sign Worker
Barton Heyman
as Airport Security Chief
Randle Mell
as TV Reporter
Phil Hartman
as Mr. Edison
Stephen Park
as Grocery Cashier
Wendell Sweda
as Hostage
Stuart Rudin
as Bus Rider with Guitar
Jim Ward
as Police Artist
Larry Joshua
as Street Sign Worker
Joe Pentangelo
as Policeman
Deborah Lee Johnson
as Reporter
Angel Vargas
as Hostage
Alfa-Betty Olsen
as Customer
Michael C. Mahon
as Policeman at Grocery
Gary Klar
as Mario
Susannah Bianchi
as Lombino("Mrs. Russ Crane")
Sam Ayers
as ESU Commander
Brian McConnachie
as Bank Manager
Davenia McFadden
as Policewoman
Kimberleigh Aarn
as Bank Teller
Ron Ryan
as Bank Customer
Tim Halligan
as Reporter
Michael Chapman
as Policeman at Grocery
Michelle Lucien
as Shut-Up Lady
Richard Joseph Paul
as Lt. Jameson
Garry Goodrow
as Radio DJ
Connie Ivie
as Hostage
Marya D. Dornya
as Hostage
Frank Maldonado
as Kids at Grocery
Ira Wheeler
as Businessman In Men's Room
Jack Gilpin
as Yuppie Hostage
Lucia Vincent
as Reporter
Skipp Lynch
as Hostage
Bobby Harrigan
as Fat Person
Frank Ferrara
Suzen Murakoshi
as Hostage
William Sturgis
as Forensic Detective
Jordan Cael
as Hostage
Manny Silverio
as Bicycle Jouster
Margo Skinner
as Flight Attendant


Howard Franklin
Bill Murray
Bill Murray
Robert Greenhut
Frederic Golchan
Jay Cronley
Book Author
Jay Cronley
Howard Franklin
Michael Chapman
Harry Arnold
Featured Music
Bert Kaempfert
Featured Music
Howard Shore
Composer (Music Score)
Milt Gabler
Randy Edelman
Composer (Music Score)
Alan Heim
David Gropman
Production Designer
Speed Hopkins
Art Director
Frederic Golchan
Executive Producer
Susan Bode-Tyson
Set Designer
Jeffrey Kurland
Costume Designer
Donna Zakowska
Costume Designer
Les Lazarowitz
Sound/Sound Designer
Frank Ferrara
Peter Montagna