Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

Quest For Camelot Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

For this feature-length foray into Arthurian animation, screenwriters [[Performer~P239768~Kirk DeMicco~kirkdemicco]] ([[Feature~V166534~A Day in November~novembre]]), [[Performer~P240112~William Schifrin~williamschifrin]] ([[Feature~V163092~Townies~kasaba]]), [[Performer~P239801~Jacqueline Feather~jacquelinefeather]] ([[Feature~V154290~Dancing in the Dark~dancinginthedark]]), and [[Performer~P110697~David Seidler~davidseidler]] ([[Feature~V51195~Tucker~tuckerandthehorsethief]], [[Feature~V154290~Dancing in the Dark~dancinginthedark]]) adapted [[Feature~V97813~The King's Damosel~thekingsgame]] (1976) by British novelist Vera Chapman. The 85-minute tale follows independent, strong-willed Kayley ([[Performer~P138829~Jessalyn Gilsig~jessalyngilsig]] voice, with the singing of [[Performer~P15090~Andrea Corr~andreacorr]]), who hopes to follow the path of her late father, Sir Lionel ([[Performer~P10031~Gabriel Byrne~gabrielbyrne]]), a brave Knight of the Round Table who died defending his king against the evil Ruber ([[Performer~P53946~Gary Oldman~garyoldman]]). Some years later, when Ruber is joined by sidekick Griffin ([[Performer~P56865~Bronson Pinchot~bronsonpinchot]]), the two manage to acquire and then lose Excalibur, the legendary magic sword of King Arthur ([[Performer~P8836~Pierce Brosnan~piercebrosnan]] with [[Performer~P695707~Steve Perry~steveperry]] singing). Preparatory to his invasion of Camelot, Ruber first kidnaps Kayley and her widowed mother, Lady Juliana ([[Performer~P206586~Jane Seymour~janeseymour]], [[Performer~P19284~Celine Dion~celinedion]] singing). Making an escape, Kayley travels through the haunted Forbidden Forest, where she meets Garrett ([[Performer~P21754~Cary Elwes~caryelwes]], [[Performer~P239629~Bryan White~bryanwhite]] singing), a bitter blind man assisted by his silver-winged, seeing-eye falcon, Ayden. Once King Arthur's stable boy, Garrett dreamed of becoming a knight, but after he was blinded by a fire, he ran away to live in the Forbidden Forest. When Garrett learns Kayley is the daughter of the knight who trained him to fight, he agrees to help Kayley search for Excalibur. Falling in love with Kayley, Garrett soon finds the courage to start anew. With the blessing of Merlin ([[Performer~P26803~Sir John Gielgud~johngielgud]]), the couple sets out to save Camelot. Along the way, they meet the two-headed dragon, Devon ([[Performer~P95365~Eric Idle~ericidle]]) and Cornwall ([[Performer~P60156~Don Rickles~donrickles]]), a dragon duo delivering dotty dialogue replete with riotous riffs and cinematic references (to such films as [[Feature~V13884~Dirty Harry~dirtyharry]] and [[Feature~V48731~Taxi Driver~taxidriver]]). Yet another supporting character is Bladebeak, a cutting-edge hybrid possibly fashioned to illustrate the axiom, "Don't count your chickens before they're a hatchet." Following the live-action/animation combo of [[Feature~V136561~Space Jam,~spacejam]] this is the first fully animated feature from the L.A.-based Warner Brothers Feature Animation unit, and the film began production May 26, 1995 in L.A., expanding operations February 11, 1996 with a sister studio in London: a 20,000-square-foot facility in London's Covent Garden district. The new UK unit shared production duties on Quest for Camelot, receiving storyboards from L.A., animating with both computers and traditional techniques, and digitally transmitting completed art back to L.A. for ink and paint. At the London WBFA studio, [[Performer~P213809~John McKenna~johnmckenna]] (previously head exec of the London City Ballet and Disney's London studio manager) initially supervised a staff of 73 (including 50 artists from the British animation talent pool) that expanded to 350. The film eventually employed over 600 staffers as it ran through a variety of working titles (The Quest for the Grail, The Quest, The Quest for Camelot). Songs by Grammy-winners [[Performer~P90215~David Foster~davidfoster]] and [[Performer~P109524~Carole Bayer Sager~carolebayersager]] include On My Father's Wings, (Kayley), [[Feature~V162718~I Stand All Alone~istandalone]] (Garrett), [[Feature~V38987~The Prayer~prayer]] (Juliana), and [[Feature~V96014~If I Didn't Have You~ididntdoit]] (Devon, Cornwall). The director of Quest for Camelot is Frederik Du Chau, who attended film school in his native Belgium, entered the industry via commercials and TV series, worked for Disney France, made his own animated short ([[Feature~V154839~The Mystery of the Land~themysteryofthelasttsar]]), drew Disney projects at Baer Animation, co-directed for Sony Wonder, directed [[Feature~V28159~The Land Before Time 3,~thelandbeforetime]] joined [[Performer~P96300~Chuck Jones~chuckjones]] Productions, and was developing his own animated project for Warner Bros. when he was asked to direct Quest for Camelot. ~ Bhob Stewart, Rovi

  • Release date:May 15, 1998

Awards

Awarded by
Nominee
Category
Year
Status
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Tony Renis Best Original Song 1998 Nominee
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences David Foster Best Original Song 1998 Nominee
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Alberto Testa Best Original Song 1998 Nominee

Cast

Jessalyn Gilsig
as Kayley
Andrea Corr
as Kayley (singing)
Cary Elwes
as Garrett
Gary Oldman
as Ruber
Eric Idle
as Devon
Don Rickels
as Cornwall
Jane Seymour
as Juliana
Celine Dion
as Juliana (singing)
Pierce Brosnan
as King Arthur
Bronson Pinchot
as Griffin
Jaleel White
as Bladebeak
Gabriel Byrne
as Lionel
John Gielgud
as Merlin

Crew

Frederik Du Chau
Director
Kirk De Micco
Screenwriter
Jacqueline Feather
Screenwriter
William Schifrin
Screenwriter
Vera Chapman
Book Author
David Seidler
Screenwriter
Tony Renis
Songwriter
David Foster
Songwriter
Patrick Doyle
Composer (Music Score)
Alberto Testa
Songwriter
Steve Pilcher
Production Designer
Andre Clavel
Associate Producer
Zahra Dowlatabadi
Associate Producer
Advertisement