Share

Watch It

On DVD: TBD | On Blu-ray: TBD

Queen for a Day Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

The genesis for Queen for a Day was the [[Performer~P105618~Dorothy Parker~dorothyparker]] short story Horsie, all about a homely woman who takes a job as a nanny in the household of a selfish, insensitive couple. Months later, the husband receives a gift of an electric razor from "Horsie," out of gratitude for his kindnesses -- kindnesses which, of course, he never consciously extended. "Horsie" ended up as one of three short stories adapted to film by producer [[Performer~P112821~Robert Stillman~robertstillman]] in 1951. The unifying theme of the film was that each of the three female protagonists were contestants on the TV series Queen for a Day. You may remember that this long-running program was hosted by [[Performer~P3290~Jack Bailey~jackbailey]], who on a daily basis selected one of three deserving women to be the recipient of fabulous prizes, the decision, which was made by the audience (there was an "applause meter" on the set), was predicated upon which of the three ladies had the saddest or most fascinating life story to tell. In addition to "Horsie," aka Miss Wilmarth ([[Performer~P48254~Edith Meiser~edithmeiser]]), the other contestants in the film are [[Performer~P2957~Phyllis Avery~phyllisavery]] and [[Performer~P54324~Kasia Orzazewski~kasiaorzazewski]]. [[Performer~P2957~Avery~phyllisavery]] stars in the vignette titled "The Gossamer World," based on a John Answorth story, this episode concerns [[Performer~P2957~Avery~phyllisavery]]'s son [[Performer~P41506~Rudy Lee~rudylee]], a victim of polio. [[Performer~P54324~Orzazewski~kasiaorzazewski]] figures into the Faith Baldwyn story "High Diver," wherein she plays the immigrant mother of a college-bound boy ([[Performer~P76364~Adam Williams~adamwilliams]]) who takes a job at a carnival to make ends meet. Queen for a Day was originally released as Horsie, until it was decided that the TV series' title was more saleable. (It wasn't, despite an aggressive ad campaign conducted on the Queen for a Day television program.) ~ Hal Erickson, Rovi

Cast

Phyllis Avery
as Marjorie
Darren McGavin
as Dan
Rudy Lee
as Pete
Joan Winfield
as Laura
Tristram Coffin
as Doctor
George Sherwood
as Mr. Garmes
Adam Williams
as Chunk [High Diver]
Kasia Orzazewski
as Mrs. Nalawak [High Diver]
Grace Lenard
as Mrs. Rinaldi [High Diver]
Madge Blake
as Mrs. Kimpel [High Diver]
Don Shelton
as Jack Minot [Horsie]
Minna Phillips
as Cook [Horsie]
Byron Keith
as Chauffeur [Horsie]
Kay Wiley
as 3rd Contestant [Broadcast Studio]
Helen Mowery
as Jan [Broadcast Studio]
Dian Fauntelle
as Helena [Broadcast Studio]
Edith Meiser
as Miss Wilmarth [Horsie]
Louise Currie
as Secretary [Horsie]
Leonard Nimoy
as Chief [High Diver]
Jeanne Cagney

Crew

Arthur Lubin
Director
Robert Stillman
Producer
Seton Miller
Screenwriter
Dorothy Parker
Screen Story
Guy Roe
Cinematographer
Hugo W. Friedhofer
Composer (Music Score)
George J. Amy
Editor
Faith Baldwin
Short Story Author
Advertisement