Share

Watch It

On DVD: TBD | On Blu-ray: TBD

Quartet Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

The first of three well-received "omnibus" films hosted by [[Performer~P184385~Somerset Maugham~wsomersetmaugham]], [[Feature~V39793~Quartet~quartet]] features four of [[Performer~P184385~Maugham~wsomersetmaugham]]'s most celebrated stories, each introduced by the author himself. In "The Facts of Life," a seemingly innocent British youth ([[Performer~P74967~Jack Watling~jackwatling]]) is targeted for a shakedown by a beautiful adventuress ([[Performer~P117916~Mai Zetterling~maizetterling]]), while [[Performer~P58407~Basil Radford~basilradford]] and [[Performer~P75100~Naunton Wayne~nauntonwayne]] perform their usual brilliant byplay. In "The Alien Corn," a young aristocrat ([[Performer~P7026~Dirk Bogarde~dirkbogarde]]) hopes to become a professional concert pianist. "The Kite" tells the story of a preoccupied inventor ([[Performer~P14046~George Cole~georgecole]]) who places his hobbies ahead of his wife ([[Performer~P216445~Susan Shaw~susanshaw]]) as an indirect means of defying his dominating mother ([[Performer~P3187~Hermione Badderly~hermionebaddeley]]). The film concludes with "The Colonel's Lady," wherein the title character ([[Performer~P69385~Nora Swinburne~noraswinburne]]) embarrasses her stuffy husband ([[Performer~P55075~Cecil Parker~cecilparker]]) by publishing a torrid volume of romantic poetry. Each of the short tales in [[Feature~V39793~Quartet~quartet]] possesses its own mood, pace and rhythm, and each is a gem in its own right. The popularity of [[Feature~V39793~Quartet~quartet]] resulted in two more [[Performer~P184385~Maugham~wsomersetmaugham]] compendiums, [[Feature~V162704~Trio~dastrio]] and [[Feature~V136298~Encore~encore]], not to mention the multistoried American film [[Feature~V104431~O. Henry's Full House~ohenrysfullhouse]]. ~ Hal Erickson, Rovi

Cast

Basil Radford
as Henry Garnet
Naunton Wayne
as Leslie
Dirk Bogarde
as George Bland
Ian Fleming
as Ralph
George Cole
as Herbert Sunbury
Jack Raine
as Thomas
Cecil Parker
as Col. Peregrine
Nora Swinburne
as Mrs. Peregrine
Jack Watling
as Nicky
Mai Zetterling
as Jeanne
Irene Browne
as Lady Bland
Honor Blackman
as Paula
George Thorpe
as Uncle John
Mary Hinton
as Aunt Maud
Françoise Rosay
as Lea Makart
Bernard Lee
as Prison Visitor
Frederick Leister
as Governor
Hermione Baddeley
as Beatrice Sunbury
Mervyn Johns
as Samuel Sunbury
Susan Shaw
as Betty
Cyril Chamberlain
as Reporter
Claud Allister
as First Club Man
Wilfrid Hyde-White
as Second Club Man
Ernst Thesiger
as Henry Dashwood
Henry Edwards
as Duke of Cleverel
Linden Travers
as Daphne
Felix Aylmer
as Maryin
John Salew
as John Coleman
Cyril Raymond
as Railway Passenger
Clive Morton
as Henry Blane
Margaret Withers
as Gushing Woman
James Robertson Justice
as Branksome

Crew

Ralph Smart
Director
Harold French
Director
Ken Annakin
Director
Arthur Crabtree
Director
Muir Mathieson
Musical Direction/Supervision
George Provis
Art Director
Sydney Box
Executive Producer
Advertisement