Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

Pursuit to Algiers Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

Taking place almost exclusively on a transatlantic ocean liner, this easygoing [[Feature~V187117~Sherlock Holmes~sherlockholmes[filmseries1940s]]] entry finds Holmes ([[Performer~P58888~Basil Rathbone~basilrathbone]]) and Watson ([[Performer~P9129~Nigel Bruce~nigelbruce]]) escorting Far Eastern regent Nikolas ([[Performer~P73618~Leslie Vincent~leslievincent]]) on a diplomatic mission. A group of assassins have targeted Nikolas for extermination, and they're not averse to knocking off Holmes and Watson to achieve their goals. In the end, it seems as though the villains have gained the upper hand -- but that's before the cagey Holmes reveals the film's biggest surprise (which, for a change, really is a surprise). Throughout Pursuit to Algiers, it's fun to watch bad guys [[Performer~P39151~Martin Kosleck~martinkosleck]] and [[Performer~P22295~Rex Evans~rexevans]] making like a road-company version of [[Performer~P100174~Peter Lorre~peterlorre]] and [[Performer~P28591~Sydney Greenstreet~sydneygreenstreet]]. The film's only disappointment is Watson's recital of the case of the Giant Rat of Sumatra, which we never get to hear in its entirety! ~ Hal Erickson, Rovi

Cast

Basil Rathbone
as Sherlock Holmes
Wilson Benge
as Mr. Arnold Clergyman
Olaf Hytten
as Simpson, gunsmith
Marjorie Riordan
as Sheila Woodbury, Singer
Gregory Gaye
as Ravez
Rosalind Ivan
as Agatha Dunham
John Abbott
as Jodri
Nigel Bruce
as Dr. John H. Watson
Morton Lowry
as Sanford, Ship's Steward
Leslie Vincent
as Nikolas "Watson"
Rex Evans
as Gregor
Frederic Worlock
as Prime Minister
Martin Kosleck
as Mirko

Crew

Roy William Neill
Director
Roy William Neill
Producer
Leonard Lee
Screenwriter
Paul Ivano
Cinematographer
Milton Rosen
Songwriter
Hans Salter
Composer (Music Score)
Howard Benedict
Executive Producer
Vera West
Costume Designer
Jack P. Pierce
Makeup
Advertisement