Share

Watch It

On DVD: TBD | On Blu-ray: TBD

Punks Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

Patrik-Ian Polk directs this ensemble film about a quartet of gay African-American men looking for love in all the wrong places. The film opens with a quartet of friends hanging out by the pool with cocktails discussing who would be better in bed, [[Performer~P284838~Ricky Martin~rickymartin]] or [[Performer~P197561~Busta Rhymes~bustarhymes]]. Outside of their overheated imaginations, though, the four are not seeing much action. During his 30th birthday party, Hill ([[Performer~P199996~Dwight Ewell~dwightewell]]) discovered his French beau getting a little fresh with a guest, causing their long term relationship to split. Marcus ([[Performer~P199058~Seth Gilliam~sethgilliam]]), a closet romantic longing for Mr. Right, has a habit of scaring off one-night stands with his AIDS paranoia. Drag queen Chris (Jazzmun) talks constantly about a boyfriend no one has ever met, and rich Latino kid Dante ([[Performer~P199241~Renoly Santiago~renolysantiago]]) is merrily promiscuous. As the film progresses, Hill, who moves in with Marcus, secretly revels in the prospect of single life. At the same time, Marcus lusts for hunky music producer Darby ([[Performer~P270719~Rockmond Dunbar~rockmonddunbar]]) who moves in next door, though he has a live-in girlfriend ([[Performer~P235346~Vanessa Williams~vanessaawilliams]]). The enormity of Chris' ego breaks up his lip-synched drag revue of [[Performer~P66024~Sister Sledge~sistersledge]] hits. This film was screened at the 2000 Sundance Film Festival and features a soundtrack by [[Performer~P201635~Babyface~kennethedmonds]] and [[Performer~P34821~Janet Jackson~janetjackson]]. ~ Jonathan Crow, Rovi

  • Release date:November 2, 2001

Awards

Awarded by
Nominee
Category
Year
Status
Independent Spirit Awards Patrik-Ian Polk John Cassavetes Award 2001 Nominee

Cast

Seth Gilliam
as Marcus
Dwight Ewell
as Hill
Rockmond Dunbar
as Darby
Renoly Santiago
as Dante
Loretta Devine
as Health Counseler
Vanessa A. Williams
as Jennifer
Rudolph Martin
as Gilbert

Crew

Patrik-Ian Polk
Director
Michael McQuarn
Producer
Kenneth Edmonds
Producer
Tracey E. Edmonds
Producer
Robi Reed-Humes
Co-producer
Robi Reed-Humes
Casting
Advertisement