Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: Now

Public Enemies Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

Based on author [[Performer~P316318~Bryan Burrough~bryanburrough]]'s ambitious tome Public Enemies: America's Greatest Crime Wave and the Birth of the FBI, 1933-43, director [[Performer~P101066~Michael Mann~michaelmann]]'s sprawling historical crime drama follows the efforts of top FBI agent Melvin Purvis (Christian Bale ) in capturing notorious bank robber John Dillinger. A folk hero to the American public thanks to his penchant for robbing the banks that many people believed responsible for the Great Depression, charming bandit Dillinger ([[Performer~P18682~Johnny Depp~johnnydepp]]) was virtually unstoppable at the height of his criminal career; no jail could hold him, and his exploits endeared him to the common people while making headlines across the country. [[Performer~P123759~J. Edgar Hoover~jedgarhoover]]'s ([[Performer~P223041~Billy Crudup~billycrudup]]) FBI was just coming into formation, and what better way for the ambitious lawman to transform his fledgling Bureau of Investigation into a national police force than to capture the gang that always gets away? Determined to bust Dillinger and his crew, which also included sociopathic Baby Face Nelson ([[Performer~P173729~Stephen Graham~stephengraham]]) and Alvin Karpis ([[Performer~P216061~Giovanni Ribisi~giovanniribisi]]), Hoover christened Dillinger the country's very first Public Enemy Number One, and unleashed Purvis to take them down by whatever means necessary. But Purvis underestimated Dillinger's ingenuity as a master criminal, and after embarking on a frantic series of chases and shoot-outs, the dashing agent humbly surmised that he was in over his head. Outwitted and outgunned, Purvis knew that his only hope for busting Dillinger's gang was to baptize a crew of Western ex-lawmen as official agents, and orchestrate a series of betrayals so cunning that even America's criminal mastermind wouldn't know what hit him. [[Performer~P195575~Marion Cotillard~marioncotillard]], [[Performer~P419915~Channing Tatum~channingtatum]], and [[Performer~P19729~Stephen Dorff~stephendorff]] co-star. ~ Jason Buchanan, Rovi

  • Release date:July 1, 2009

Cast

Johnny Depp
as John Dillinger
Christian Bale
as Melvin Purvis
Marion Cotillard
as Billie Frechette
Channing Tatum
as Pretty Boy Floyd
Giovanni Ribisi
as Alvin Karpis
Billy Crudup
as J. Edgar Hoover
Stephen Dorff
as Homer Van Meter
David Wenham
as Pete Pierpont
Stephen Graham
as Baby Face Nelson
Jason Clarke
as John "Red" Hamilton
Stephen Lang
as Charles Winstead
John Ortiz
as Phil D'Andrea
Branka Katic
as Anna Sage
James Russo
as Walter Dietrich
Shawn Hatosy
as Agent John Madala
Gareth Saxe
as Agent Ray Suran
Bill Camp
as Frank Nitti
Christian Stolte
as Charles Makley
Wesley Walker
as Jim Leslie
Kris Wolff
as Deputy
Danni Simon
as May Minczeles
David Warshofsky
as Warden Baker
Domenick Lombardozzi
as Gilbert Catena
Peter DeFaria
as Grover Weyland
John Hoogenakker
as Agent Hugh Clegg
Guy Van Swearingen
as Agent Ralph Brown
Sean Rosales
as Joe Pawlowski
Rick Uecker
as Edward Saager
Peter Gerety
as Louis Piquety
Martie Sanders
as Irene the Ticket Taker
Jeff Still
as Jimmy Probasco
John Michael Bolger
as Martin Zarkovich
Chandler Williams
as Clyde Tolson
Matt Craven
as Gerry Campbell
Randy Ryan
as Agent Julius Rice
Adam Mucci
as Agent Harold Reinecke
John Judd
as Turnkey
Joseph Mazurk
Gerald Goff
as Captain O'Neill
Keith Kupferer
as Agent Sopsic
Robyn Suzanne Scott
as Ella Natasky
Madison Dirks
as Agent Warren Barton
John Kishline
as Guard Dainard
Casey Siemaszko
as Harry Berman
Ed Bruce
as Senator McKellar
Emilie de Ravin
as Barbara Patzke
Don Frye
as Clarence Hurt
Richard Short
as Agent Sam Cowley
Brian Connelly
as Officer Chester Boyard
Steve Key
as Doc Barker
Kurt Naebig
as Agent William Rorer
Diana Krall
as Torch Singer
Rory Cochrane
as Agent Carter Baum
Spencer Garrett
as Tommy Carroll
Geoffrey Cantor
as Harry Suydam
John Scherp
as Earl Adams
Lance Baker
as Freddie Barker
Alan Wilder
as Robert Estill
Michael Bentt
as Herbert Youngblood
Jim Carrane
as Sam Cahoon
Mark Vallarta
as Harry Berg
Shanyn Leigh
as Helen Gillis
Carey Mulligan
as Carol Slayman
Lili Taylor
as Sheriff Lillian Holley
Leelee Sobieski
as Polly Hamilton
Adam Clark
as Sport
Rebecca Spence
as Doris Rogers
Len Bajenski
as Police Chief Fultz
Michael Vieau
as Ed Shouse

Crew

Michael Mann
Director
Michael Mann
Producer
Kevin Misher
Producer
Ronan Bennett
Screenwriter
Mark St. Germain
Screenwriter
Michael Mann
Screenwriter
Bryan Burrough
Book Author
Ann Biderman
Screenwriter
Dante Spinotti
Cinematographer
Bob Badami
Musical Direction/Supervision
Kathy Nelson
Musical Direction/Supervision
Elliot Goldenthal
Composer (Music Score)
Paul Rubell
Editor
Nathan Crowley
Production Designer
Gusmano Cesaretti
Co-producer
Bryan H. Carroll
Co-producer
Kevin de la Noy
Co-producer
Maria Norman
Associate Producer
G. Mac Brown
Executive Producer
Colleen Atwood
Costume Designer
Julie Herrin
Unit Production Manager
Allen Kupetsky
Second Assistant Director
Advertisement