Share

Watch It

On DVD: TBD | On Blu-ray: TBD

Providence Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

The first English-language film from [[Performer~P108005~Alain Resnais~alainresnais]], this drama about a spiteful, alcoholic novelist contains the French director's typically playful surrealist touches and recurring use of characters shackled by memory. [[Performer~P26803~John Gielgud~johngielgud]] stars as Clive Langham, a drunken author in failing health who spends an increasingly intoxicated evening at his Rhode Island estate working on his new novel. Clive bases the characters in the melodramatic story on his own family, including his two sons, Claude ([[Performer~P7026~Dirk Bogarde~dirkbogarde]]) and the illegitimate Kevin ([[Performer~P74733~David Warner~davidwarner]]), as well as Claude's wife Sonia ([[Performer~P9777~Ellen Burstyn~ellenburstyn]]). Imagining a bitter love triangle full of spite between the three protagonists of his tale, Clive uses generous doses of imagination and symbolism, including a discordant soccer player ([[Performer~P40978~Denis Lawson~denislawson]]) related to Kevin and werewolves. When his real-life family appears for a meal with Clive, however, they are not quite the embittered, devious players in the author's booze-fueled fiction. Although dividing critics between those delighted with [[Performer~P108005~Resnais~alainresnais]]' comic flourishes and others annoyed by his arty pretensions, Providence (1977) swept the Cesar Awards, France's Oscar equivalent, winning seven including Best Director for [[Performer~P108005~Resnais~alainresnais]]. ~ Karl Williams, Rovi

  • Release date:February 9, 1977

Awards

Awarded by
Nominee
Category
Year
Status
French Academy of Cinema Jacques Maumont Best Sound 1977 Winner
French Academy of Cinema Alain Resnais Best Director 1977 Winner
French Academy of Cinema Alain Resnais Best Picture 1977 Winner
French Academy of Cinema Jacques Saulnier Best Production Design 1977 Winner
French Academy of Cinema Miklos Rozsa Best Music 1977 Winner
New York Film Critics Circle John Gielgud Best Actor 1977 Winner
French Academy of Cinema Albert Jurgenson Best Editing 1977 Winner
French Academy of Cinema David Mercer Best Original Screenplay 1977 Winner

Cast

Dirk Bogarde
as Claude
Ellen Burstyn
as Sonia
John Gielgud
as Clive
David Warner
as Kevin
Elaine Stritch
as Helen Weiner
Denis Lawson
as Dave
Tanya Lopert
as Miss Lister
Samson Fainsilber
as Old Hairy Man
Milo Sperber
as Mr. Jenner
Anna Wing
as Karen

Crew

Alain Resnais
Director
Klaus Hellwig
Producer
Yves Peyrot
Producer
Yves Gasser
Producer
David Mercer
Screenwriter
Ricardo Aronovich
Cinematographer
Miklos Rozsa
Composer (Music Score)
Albert Jurgenson
Editor
Charles Merangel
Production Designer
Jacques Saulnier
Art Director
Lise Fayolles
Associate Producer
Philippe Dussart
Executive Producer
Catherine Leterrier
Costume Designer
Jacques Maumont
Sound/Sound Designer
Philippe Brun
Camera Operator
Antoine Gannage
Production Manager
Yves Saint Laurent
Costume/Wardrobe
Advertisement