Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

The Producers Details


After transforming his first motion picture into a smash Broadway musical, Mel Brooks brings the story of two would-be theatrical moguls turned con men back to the screen in this musical comedy. Max Bialystock (Nathan Lane) was once one of Broadway's most successful producers, but a string of flops has thrown his career into a tailspin, and now he struggles to raise the cash to stage new shows by playing gigolo to lonely old ladies. While going over his books, accountant Leo Bloom (Matthew Broderick) notices that Bialystock raised more money than he spent for one show, and points out that if one raised enough money for a show that closed in one night, you could make more off a flop than a hit. This strikes Bialystock as a brilliant scheme, and he decides to give it a try, persuading Bloom to join him in staging the world's greatest flop. After discovering a truly vile script -- "Springtime for Hitler," a musical set in the Third Reich written by neo-Nazi pigeon fancier Franz Liebkind (Will Ferrell) -- and giving a key role to the secretary Ulla (Uma Thurman), a drop-dead gorgeous blonde with only a tenuous understanding of the English language, Bialystock and Bloom are certain they have the disaster they need for their plan to work. But the scheme unexpectedly goes wrong when "Springtime for Hitler" becomes a "so bad it's good" hit. Mel Brooks co-wrote the screenplay for The Producers as well as producing it, but directorial chores were handed over to Susan Stroman, who also directed the Broadway show; Nathan Lane and Matthew Broderick also repeated their roles from the Broadway production. ~ Mark Deming, Rovi

  • Release date:December 16, 2005


Awarded by
Hollywood Foreign Press Association Nathan Lane Best Performance by an Actor in a Motion Picture - Musical or Comedy 2005 Nominee
Hollywood Foreign Press Association Will Ferrell Best Performance by an Actor in a Supporting Role in a Motion Picture 2005 Nominee
Hollywood Foreign Press Association Mel Brooks Best Original Song 2005 Nominee


Nathan Lane
as Max Bialystock
Matthew Broderick
as Leopold Bloom
Uma Thurman
as Ulla
Will Ferrell
as Franz Liebkind
Gary Beach
as Roger De Bris
Roger Bart
as Carmen Ghia
Eileen Essell
as Hold Me-Touch Me
David Huddleston
as Judge
Michael McKean
as Prison Trustee
Debra Monk
as Lick Me-Bite Me
Andrea Martin
as Kiss Me-Feel Me
Jon Lovitz
as Mr. Marks
Susann Fletcher


Susan Stroman
Mel Brooks
Jonathan Sanger
Thomas Meehan
Mel Brooks
John Bailey
Charles Minsky
Mel Brooks
Composer (Music Score)
Steve Weisberg
Mark Friedberg
Production Designer
Peter Rogness
Art Director
Amy Herman
Leah Zappy
Associate Producer
William Ivey Long
Executive Producer
Robin Wagner
Set Designer
William Ivey Long
Costume Designer
Ellen Christiansen
Set Decorator
Lon Bender
Sound/Sound Designer
Sam Hoffman
First Assistant Director
Susan Stroman
Tara Jayne Rubin
Mel Brooks