Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

The Prize Details


Based on the novel by Irving Wallace, The Prize takes place in Stockholm, where several laureates gather to accept their Nobel Prizes. At first, the film concentrates on iconoclastic novelist Paul Newman, but he is temporarily shunted to the background when physics expert Edward G. Robinson is kidnaped and replaced by his wicked twin brother. The real Robinson is to be spirited behind the Iron Curtain, while the "fake" Robinson is to disrupt the awards ceremony with an anti-American tirade. Newman gets wind of the plot, and with the help of Swedish foreign office functionary Elke Sommer, he endeavors to rescue the real Robinson and expose the phony-who has yet another trick up his sleeve before the film is over. We'll go along with the fantastic plot convolutions of The Prize, provided we don't have to swallow the premise of another man's voice emanating from that familiar Eddie Robinson mug. ~ Hal Erickson, Rovi


Awarded by
Hollywood Foreign Press Association Elke Sommer New Star of the Year - Female 1963 Winner
Hollywood Foreign Press Association Diane Baker Best Performance by an Actress in a Supporting Role in a Motion Picture 1963 Nominee


Paul Newman
as Andrew Craig
Edward G. Robinson
as Dr. Max Stratman
Elke Sommer
as Inger Lisa Andersen
Diane Baker
as Emily Stratman
Micheline Presle
as Dr. Denise Marceau
Gérard Oury
as Dr. Claude Marceau
Sergio Fantoni
as Dr. Carlo Farelli
Kevin McCarthy
as Dr. John Garrett
Leo G. Carroll
as Count Bertil Jacobssen
Sacha Pitoeff
as Daranyi
Jacqueline Beer
as Monique Souvir
John Wengraf
as Hans Eckart
Don Dubbins
as Ivar Cramer
Virginia Christine
as Mrs. Bergh
Rudolph Anders
as Mr. Bergh
Martine Bartlett
as Saralee Garrett
Karl Swenson
as Hilding
John Qualen
as Oscar
Martin Brandt
as Steen Eckberg
Gregory Gaye
as Russian Reporter
Carl Carlsson
as Swedish Visitor
John Banner
as German correspondent
Noel Drayton
as Police Constable Strohm
Erik Holland
as Photographer
Jerry Dunphy
as American TV News correspondent
Sigfrid Tor
as Swedish Waiter
Gene Roth
Lester Matthews
as BBC News correspondent
Paul Busch
Ivan Triesault
as Hotel porter
Queenie Leonard
as Miss Fawley
Edith Evanson
as Mrs. Ahlquist
Harold Dyrenforth
Fred Scheiwiller
as Deck Hand
Albert Carrier
as French Reporter
Grazia Narciso
as Mrs. Farelli
Teru Shimada
as Tokyo Correspondent
Otto Reichow
as Seaman
Gregg Palmer
as Swedish Commentator
Alice Frost
as Swedish woman
Anna Lee
as American Reporter
John Holland
Jill Carson
Mauritz Hugo
as Speaker
Sid Raymond
as Actor
Ron Nyman
as Burly Swede
Annalena Lund
as Blonde
Ben Wright
as British Reporter


Mark Robson
Pandro S. Berman
Ernest Lehman
William H. Daniels
Jerry Goldsmith
Composer (Music Score)
Urie McCleary
Art Director
George W. Davis
Art Director
Henry W. Grace
Set Designer
Richard A. Pefferle
Set Designer
Arnold A. Gillespie
Special Effects
William J. Tuttle