Share

Watch It

Enter your location to get local movie times + tickets:
On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: Now

The Princess Bride Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

Based on [[Performer~P91933~William Goldman~williamgoldman]]'s novel of the same name, The Princess Bride is staged as a book read by grandfather ([[Performer~P22575~Peter Falk~peterfalk]]) to his ill grandson ([[Performer~P63323~Fred Savage~fredsavage]]). [[Performer~P22575~Falk~peterfalk]]'s character assures a romance-weary [[Performer~P63323~Savage~fredsavage]] that the book has much more to deliver than a simpering love story, including but not limited to fencing, fighting, torture, death, true love, giants, and pirates. Indeed, The Princess Bride offers a tongue-in-cheek fairy tale depicting stable boy-turned-pirate Westley's journey to rescue Buttercup ([[Performer~P77633~Robin Wright~robinwrightpenn]]), his true love, away from the evil prince ([[Performer~P63156~Chris Sarandon~chrissarandon]]), whom she had agreed to marry five years after learning of what she had believed to be news of Westley's death. With help from Prince Humperdinck's disgruntled former employee Miracle Max ([[Performer~P86318~Billy Crystal~billycrystal]]), swordsman Inigo Montoya ([[Performer~P55373~Mandy Patinkin~mandypatinkin]]), and a very large man named Fezzik ([[Performer~P1642~Andre the Giant~andrethegiant]]), the star-crossed lovers are reunited. ~ Tracie Cooper, Rovi

  • Release date:October 1, 1987

Cast

Cary Elwes
as Westley
Robin Wright
as Buttercup, the Princess Bride
Mandy Patinkin
as Inigo Montoya
Chris Sarandon
as Prince Humperdinck
Christopher Guest
as Count Rugen
Wallace Shawn
as Vizzini
Peter Falk
as The Grandfather
Fred Savage
as The Grandson
Andre the Giant
as Fezzik
Peter Cook
as The Impressive Clergyman
Carol Kane
as Valerie, the Wizard's Wife
Billy Crystal
as Miracle Max, the Wizard
Mel Smith
as The Albino
Willoughby Gray
as The King
Margery Mason
as The Ancient Booer
Malcolm Storry
as Yellin
Janet Hirshenson
Jane Jenkins
Betsy Brantley
as The Mother
Anne Dyson
as The Queen

Crew

Rob Reiner
Director
Rob Reiner
Producer
Norman Lear
Producer
Andrew Scheinman
Producer
William Goldman
Book Author
William Goldman
Screenwriter
Adrian Biddle
Cinematographer
Robert Leighton
Editor
Norman Garwood
Production Designer
David Barron
Production Designer
Keith Pain
Art Director
Richard Holland
Art Director
Steve Nicolaides
Associate Producer
Jeffrey Stott
Associate Producer
Norman Lear
Executive Producer
Maggie Gray
Set Designer
Phyllis Dalton
Costume Designer
Nick Allder
Special Effects
Jane Jenkins
Casting
Janet Hirshenson
Casting
Lois Burwell
Makeup
Advertisement