Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

The Prince of Egypt Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

Dreamworks Pictures has taken the biblical story of Exodus, put it into cartoon form, and released it on the big screen as an epic animated feature. The Prince of Egypt tells the story of Moses releasing the Jews from Egyptian slavery under the hand of the evil pharaoh Rameses. Think of [[Feature~V49010~The Ten Commandments~thetencommandments]] with songs and an all-star cast doing the voices. In the [[Performer~P94233~Charlton Heston~charltonheston]] role of Moses is [[Performer~P38142~Val Kilmer~valkilmer]]. Moses' brother Rameses, previously played by [[Performer~P9264~Yul Brynner~yulbrynner]], is now voiced by [[Performer~P23390~Ralph Fiennes~ralphfiennes]]. The story revolves around these two close brothers, Moses and Rameses. While Rameses is groomed to take over the land, his beloved brother Moses is a carefree prankster, until he learns the true secret of his past. His secret, of course, is that he is really a Jew and as a child was floated down the river to escape mass genocide. The pharaoh Seti ([[Performer~P68265~Patrick Stewart~patrickstewart]]) raised Moses as his son. Upon learning the truth of his past from a burning bush, Moses returns to Egypt with God on his side and demands that the pharaoh (now his brother Rameses) must "Let my people go." With songs written by Oscar-winner [[Performer~P63956~Stephen Schwartz~stephenschwartz]] and sung by [[Performer~P33436~Whitney Houston~whitneyhouston]] and [[Performer~P10883~Mariah Carey~mariahcarey]], The Prince of Egypt covers all the classic story points of the story of Moses, including the ten plagues and the parting of the Red Sea. ~ Arthur Borman, Rovi

  • Release date:December 16, 1998

Awards

Awarded by
Nominee
Category
Year
Status
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Hans Zimmer Best Musical or Comedy Score 1998 Nominee
Broadcast Film Critics Association Stephen Schwartz Best Song 1998 Winner
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Stephen Schwartz Best Original Song 1998 Winner
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Stephen Schwartz Best Musical or Comedy Score 1998 Nominee

Cast

Val Kilmer
as Moses / God
Ralph Fiennes
as Rameses
Michelle Pfeiffer
as Tzipporah
Sandra Bullock
as Miriam
Jeff Goldblum
as Aaron
Danny Glover
as Jethro
Patrick Stewart
as Pharaoh Seti
Helen Mirren
as The Queen
Steve Martin
as Hotep
Martin Short
as Huy
Natalie Portman
as Additional voice [uncredited]

Crew

Stephen Hickner
Director
Simon Wells
Director
Brenda Chapman
Director
Sandra Rabins
Producer
Penney Finkelman Cox
Producer
Philip Lazebnik
Screenwriter
Hans Zimmer
Composer (Music Score)
Stephen Schwartz
Songwriter
Darek Gogol
Production Designer
Kathy Altieri
Art Director
Ron Rocha
Associate Producer
Jeffrey Katzenberg
Executive Producer
Kelly Kimball
Costume Designer
Wylie Stateman
Sound/Sound Designer
Leslee Feldman
Casting
Nick Fletcher
Supervising Editor
Christophe Lautrette
Layout
Dan Philips
Special Effects Supervisor
Advertisement