Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

The Prime of Miss Jean Brodie Details


Based on the novel by Muriel Spark, The Prime of Miss Jean Brodie stars Maggie Smith in the title role. Smith won an Academy Award for her delicately textured portrayal of an eccentric teacher at an exclusive Scottish girl's school. Miss Jean exhorts her "gels" to follow their hearts and never lose their youthful idealism. Unfortunately for her, she also stumps for her favorite political figures: Mussolini and Franco. In addition, she can't keep the innermost details of her private life a secret, and in fact boasts about her sex life to her students. Her prize pupil (Pamela Franklin) becomes so much a clone of Miss Jean that she ends up a threat to the teacher. Ultimately, Miss Jean loses her position, but not the hearts of her students. The box-office success of Prime of Miss Jean Brodie was due in great part to the popularity of the title song, as recorded by Rod McKuen. ~ Hal Erickson, Rovi

  • Release date:March 2, 1969


Awarded by
Hollywood Foreign Press Association Rod McKuen Best Original Song 1969 Winner
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Rod McKuen Best Song 1969 Nominee
British Academy of Film and Television Arts Maggie Smith Best Actor 1969 Winner
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Maggie Smith Best Actress 1969 Winner
Hollywood Foreign Press Association Maggie Smith Best Performance by an Actress in a Motion Picture - Drama 1969 Nominee
National Board of Review Pamela Franklin Best Supporting Actress 1969 Winner
British Academy of Film and Television Arts Celia Johnson Best Supporting Actress 1969 Winner


Maggie Smith
as Jean Brodie
Robert Stephens
as Teddy Lloyd
Pamela Franklin
as Sandy
Gordon Jackson
as Gordon Lowther
Celia Johnson
as Miss MacKay
Jane Carr
as Mary McGregor
Diane Grayson
as Jenny
Shirley Steedman
as Monica
Margo Cunningham
as Miss Campbell
Ann Way
as Miss Gaunt
Isla Cameron
as Miss McKenzie
Helena Gloag
as Miss Kerr
Molly Weir
as Miss Alison Kerr
Rona Anderson
as Miss Lockhart
Kristin Hatfield


Ronald Neame
Robert Fryer
Jay Presson Allen
Jay Presson Allen
Play Author
Ted Moore
Rod McKuen
Composer (Music Score)
Arthur Greenslade
Musical Direction/Supervision
Norman Savage
Pamela Cornell
Set Designer
Joan Bridge
Costume Designer
Elizabeth Haffenden
Costume Designer
Winston Ryder
Sound/Sound Designer
Ted Sturgis
First Assistant Director
Regina Gruss
Ernest Gasser