Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

The Pride of the Yankees Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

"It's box office poison," producer [[Performer~P91976~Samuel Goldwyn~samuelgoldwyn]] is said to have exclaimed when he heard the idea of filming the life story of fabled first baseman [[Performer~P26318~Lou Gehrig~lougehrig]]. "If people want baseball, they go to the ballpark!" The story begins before World War I, when young [[Performer~P26318~Lou Gehrig~lougehrig]] (played as a boy by [[Performer~P15825~Douglas Croft~douglascroft]]) begins dreaming of becoming a professional ballplayer. [[Performer~P26318~Lou~lougehrig]]'s immigrant parents (Elsa Jansen and [[Performer~P68564~Ludwig Stossel~ludwigstossel]]) insist that the boy attend Columbia University to become an engineer. While in college, [[Performer~P26318~Lou~lougehrig]] (played as a man by [[Performer~P223908~Gary Cooper~garycooper]]) becomes a star athlete, and, with the help of sports journalist [[Performer~P207125~Sam Blake~samblake]] ([[Performer~P8313~Walter Brennan~walterbrennan]]), he is signed by the New York Yankees and joins their big-league lineup in 1925; real-life Yanks Babe Ruth, [[Performer~P19087~Bill Dickey~billdickey]], Bob Meusel and [[Performer~P38935~Mark Koenig~markkoenig]] play themselves. He also meets and falls in love with Eleanor Twitchell ([[Performer~P77640~Teresa Wright~teresawright]]) (an event that actually happened in 1933) and earns the nickname "The Iron Man of Baseball" because he never misses a game. In 1939, [[Performer~P26318~Lou~lougehrig]] discovers that he has a fatal neurological disease called amytrophic lateral sclerosis (now known, of course, as "[[Performer~P26318~Lou Gehrig~lougehrig]]'s Disease"). On July 4, 1939, an emotional [[Performer~P26318~Lou Gehrig~lougehrig]], a scant two years away from death, bids farewell to 62,000 of his fans and friends at Yankee Stadium. Allowing that he might have been given a bad break, he concludes his speech with "Today, I consider myself the luckiest man on the face of the earth." Deftly weaving basic facts with yards and yards of fancy, screenwriters [[Performer~P113394~Jo Swerling~joswerling]] and [[Performer~P101037~Herman J. Mankiewicz~hermanmankiewicz]] serve up one of the most entertaining and inspiring baseball biopics. A more accurate but less dramatic adaptation of the same story, A Love Affair: The Eleanor & Lou Gehrig Story, was produced for television in 1977. ~ Hal Erickson, Rovi

  • Release date:July 14, 1942

Awards

Awarded by
Nominee
Category
Year
Status
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Herman Mankiewicz Best Screenplay 1942 Nominee
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Howard Bristol Best Black and White Art Direction 1942 Nominee
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Jo Swerling Best Screenplay 1942 Nominee
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Paul Gallico Best Original Story 1942 Nominee
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Leigh Harline Best Score - Drama or Comedy 1942 Nominee
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Teresa Wright Best Actress 1942 Nominee
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Gary Cooper Best Actor 1942 Nominee
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Rudolph Maté Best Black and White Cinematography 1942 Nominee
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Dan Mandell Best Editing 1942 Winner

Cast

Gary Cooper
as Lou Gehrig
Teresa Wright
as Eleanor Gehrig
Walter Brennan
as Sam Blake
Dan Duryea
as Hank Hanneman
Elsa Janssen
as Mrs. Gehrig
Ludwig Stossel
as Pop Gehrig
Virginia Gilmore
as Myra
Ernie S. Adams
as Miller Huggins
Pierre Watkin
as Mr. Twitchell
Mark Koenig
as Himself
Addison Richards
as Coach
Hardie Albright
as Van Tuyl
Edward Fielding
as Clinic Doctor
George Lessey
as Mayor of New Rochelle
Douglas Croft
as Lou Gehrig as a Boy
Lane Chandler
as Player in Locker Room
Patsy O'Byrne
as Scrubwoman
Max Willenz
as Colletti
John Kellogg
as Fraternity Boy
Eva Dennison
as Mrs. Worthington
Edgar Barrier
as Hospital Doctor
Rosina Galli
as Mrs. Fabini
Frank Faylen
as Yankee
Harry Harvey
as Joe McCarthy
Matt McHugh
as Strength Machine Operator
Jack Shea
as Hammond
Tom Neal
as Fraternity Boy
Pat Flaherty
as Baseball Player
Sarah Padden
as Mrs. Robert
Dane Clark
as Fraternity Boy
Spencer Charters
as Mr. Larsen
Dorothy Vaughan
as Landlady
Vinton Haworth
Mary Gordon
as Maid
C. Montague Shaw
as Mr. Worthington
Billy Roy
as Joe Fabini
Vaughan Glaser
as Doctor in Gehrig Home
David Manley
as Mayor Fiorello LaGuardia
Gene Collins
as Billy

Crew

Sam Wood
Director
Samuel Goldwyn
Producer
Jo Swerling
Screenwriter
Paul Gallico
Screen Story
Paul Gallico
Screenwriter
Herman Mankiewicz
Screenwriter
Rudolph Maté
Cinematographer
Ray Noble
Composer (Music Score)
Irving Berlin
Songwriter
Leigh Harline
Composer (Music Score)
Dan Mandell
Editor
William Cameron Menzies
Production Designer
McClure Capps
Art Director
Howard Bristol
Set Designer
Rene Hubert
Costume Designer
Advertisement