Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: Now

Pride & Prejudice Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

[[Performer~P315531~Jane Austen~janeausten]]'s perennially popular story of the game of love among the British upper classes returns to the screen in this polished film adaptation. The Bennets ([[Performer~P6748~Brenda Blethyn~brendablethyn]] and [[Performer~P69192~Donald Sutherland~donaldsutherland]]) are the parents of five daughters near the close of the 18th century. Comfortable within their means but well short of rich, Mr. and Mrs. Bennet are looking for suitable husbands for their girls, and they are encouraged to learn that an eligible young bachelor from a wealthy family, Charles Bingley ([[Performer~P439749~Simon Woods~simonwoods]]), has moved into a nearby estate. Eager to see if a match can be made, the Bennets bring their daughters Elizabeth ([[Performer~P339282~Keira Knightley~keiraknightley]]) and Jane ([[Performer~P328443~Rosamund Pike~rosamundpike]]) to a ball thrown by their new neighbor to see if sparks will fly. Jane seems to like Charles, and he appears to feel the same, but Elizabeth takes an immediate dislike to Darcy (Matthew MacFadyen), Charles' egocentric best friend. While Elizabeth is infatuated with military man Lt. Wickham ([[Performer~P447609~Rupert Friend~rupertfriend]]) and finds herself courted by William Collins ([[Performer~P239413~Tom Hollander~tomhollander]]), a well-meaning but drab man of the cloth, fate causes Elizabeth and Darcy to frequently cross paths, and while they don't care for one another, they can't stop thinking about each other, either. Pride & Prejudice also stars [[Performer~P228556~Jena Malone~jenamalone]], [[Performer~P18570~Judi Dench~judidench]], and [[Performer~P76837~Penelope Wilton~penelopewilton]]. ~ Mark Deming, Rovi

  • Release date:November 11, 2005

Awards

Awarded by
Nominee
Category
Year
Status
British Academy of Film and Television Arts Jacqueline Durran Best Costume Design 2005 Nominee
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Jacqueline Durran Best Costume Design 2005 Nominee
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Katie Spencer Best Art Direction 2005 Nominee
London Film Critics Association Matthew MacFadyen Best British Newcomer 2005 Nominee
American Cinema Editors Guild Paul Tothill Best Edited Feature - Comedy or Musical 2005 Nominee
Chicago Film Critics Association Roman Osin Best Cinematography 2005 Nominee
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Sarah Greenwood Best Art Direction 2005 Nominee
London Film Critics Association Tom Hollander Best British Supporting Actor 2005 Winner
London Film Critics Association Brenda Blethyn Best British Supporting Actress 2005 Nominee
British Academy of Film and Television Arts Brenda Blethyn Best Supporting Actress 2005 Nominee
National Society of Film Critics Keira Knightley Best Actress - Runner-up 2005 Winner
London Film Critics Association Keira Knightley Best British Actress 2005 Nominee
Hollywood Foreign Press Association Keira Knightley Best Performance by an Actress in a Motion Picture - Musical or Comedy 2005 Nominee
Online Film Critics Association Keira Knightley Best Actress 2005 Nominee
Broadcast Film Critics Association Keira Knightley Best Actress 2005 Nominee
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Keira Knightley Best Actress 2005 Nominee
Chicago Film Critics Association Keira Knightley Best Actress 2005 Nominee
London Film Critics Association Rosamund Pike Best British Supporting Actress 2005 Nominee
Chicago Film Critics Association Donald Sutherland Best Supporting Actor 2005 Nominee
London Film Critics Association Joe Wright Best British Director 2005 Winner
British Academy of Film and Television Arts Joe Wright Best British Debut 2005 Winner
Boston Society of Film Critics Joe Wright David Brudnoy New Filmmaker Award 2005 Winner
London Film Critics Association Joe Wright Best British Newcomer 2005 Nominee
Online Film Critics Association Joe Wright Breakthrough Filmmaker 2005 Nominee
Chicago Film Critics Association Joe Wright Most Promising Director 2005 Nominee
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Dario Marianelli Best Original Score 2005 Nominee
British Academy of Film and Television Arts Deborah Moggach Best Adapted Screenplay 2005 Nominee
British Academy of Film and Television Arts Fae Hammond Best Makeup and Hair 2005 Nominee

Cast

Keira Knightley
as Elizabeth Bennet
Matthew MacFadyen
as Mr. Darcy
Brenda Blethyn
as Mrs. Bennet
Donald Sutherland
as Mr. Bennet
Tom Hollander
as William Collins
Rosamund Pike
as Jane Bennet
Jena Malone
as Lydia Bennet
Judi Dench
as Lady Catherine De Bourgh
Kelly Reilly
as Caroline Bingley
Claudie Blakley
as Charlotte Lucas
Peter Wight
as Mr. Gardiner
Rupert Friend
as Lt. Wickham
Tamzin Merchant
as Georgiana Darcy
Cornelius Booth
Sylvester Morand
Rosamund Stephen
Janet Whiteside
Sinead Matthews
Roy Holder
Megan Owen
Moya Brady
Pip Torrens
Jay Simpson
Simon Woods
as Charles Bingley
Penelope Wilton
as Mrs. Gardiner
Talulah Riley
as Mary Bennet
Carey Mulligan
as Kitty Bennet

Crew

Joe Wright
Director
Paul Webster
Producer
Eric Fellner
Producer
Tim Bevan
Producer
Deborah Moggach
Screenwriter
Jane Austen
Book Author
Roman Osin
Cinematographer
Dario Marianelli
Composer (Music Score)
Nick Angel
Musical Direction/Supervision
Paul Tothill
Editor
Sarah Greenwood
Production Designer
Nick Gottschalk
Art Director
Mark Swain
Art Director
Ian Bailie
Supervising Art Director
Jane Frazer
Co-producer
Liza Chasin
Executive Producer
Debra Hayward
Executive Producer
Jacqueline Durran
Costume Designer
Katie Spencer
Set Decorator
Paul Hamblin
Sound/Sound Designer
Danny Hambrook
Sound/Sound Designer
Catherine Hodgson
Sound/Sound Designer
Guy Heeley
First Assistant Director
Jane Gibson
Choreography
Jina Jay
Casting
Jean-Yves Thibaudet
Musical Performer
Fae Hammond
Makeup
Fae Hammond
Hair Styles
Advertisement