Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: Now

The Prestige Details


Obsession, jealousy, and deceit define the tense relationship shared between two turn-of-the-century magicians in Memento and Batman Begins director Christopher Nolan's dizzying tale of sleight of hand. Rupert Angier (Hugh Jackman) and Alfred Borden (Christian Bale) are London-based magicians of the highest order, both blessed with spectacular powers of deception and both cursed with unrelenting envy for one another's skills. When Alfred performs an awe-inspiring trick for which there seems no logical explanation, the friendly competition shared between the pair turns to deadly rivalry as the enraged Rupert determines to uncover his rival's deepest secrets. In the world of illusion, however, nothing is ever quite as it seems, and the rules of the physical world simply don't apply. Now, as bitter competition quickly begins to consume the souls of both performers, the firestorm birthed by their anger threatens to consume all who surround them. Michael Caine, Scarlett Johansson, and David Bowie co-star in a feature that finds director/screenwriter Nolan reuniting with brother and Memento story author Jonathan Nolan to adapt author Christopher Priest's original novel. ~ Jason Buchanan, Rovi

  • Release date:October 20, 2006


Awarded by
Online Film Critics Association Jonathan Nolan Best Adapted Screenplay 2006 Nominee
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Julie Ochipinti Best Art Direction 2006 Nominee
London Film Critics Association Michael Caine Best Supporting British Actor 2006 Winner
Art Directors Guild Nathan Crowley Best Art Direction in a Period Film 2006 Nominee
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Nathan Crowley Best Art Direction 2006 Nominee
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Wally Pfister Best Cinematography 2006 Nominee
London Film Critics Association Christian Bale Best British Actor 2006 Nominee
London Film Critics Association Christopher Nolan Best British Director 2006 Nominee
Online Film Critics Association Christopher Nolan Best Adapted Screenplay 2006 Nominee
London Film Critics Association Rebecca Hall British Newcomer of the Year 2006 Nominee


Hugh Jackman
as Robert Angier
Christian Bale
as Alfred Borden
Michael Caine
as Cutter
Scarlett Johansson
as Olivia Wenscombe
David Bowie
as Tesla
Rebecca Hall
as Sarah
Andy Serkis
as Alley
Samantha Mahurin
as Jess
Piper Perabo
as Julia McCullough
Daniel Davis
as Judge
Jim Piddock
as Prosecuter
Mark Ryan
as Captain
Roger Rees
as Owens
Jamie Harris
as Sullen Warder
Monty Stuart
as Stagecoach Driver
Ron Perkins
as Hotel Manager
Ricky Jay
as Milton
Chao-Li Chi
as Chung Ling Soo
Gregory Humphreys
as Policeman
W. Morgan Sheppard
as Merrit
Julie Sanford
as Elegant Lady
Ezra Buzzington
as Ticket Hawker
James Lancaster
as Moderator
Olivia Merg
as Jess (Toddler)
Zoe Merg
as Jess (Toddler)
Johnny Liska
as Scalper
Russ Fega
as Man in Hotel
Kevin Will
as Man in Hotel
Edward Hibbert
as Ackerman
Christopher Judges
as Burly Stagehand
James Otis
as Blind Stagehand 1
Sam Menning
as Blind Stagehand 2
Brian Tahash
as Blind Stagehand 3
Scott Davis
as Carriage Driver
Nikki Glick
as Housekeeper
Enn Reitel
as Workman 1
Clive Kennedy
as Warder
Chris Cleveland
as Will


Christopher Nolan
Christopher Nolan
Aaron Ryder
Emma Thomas
Jonathan Nolan
Christopher Nolan
Wally Pfister
Hans Bjerno
David Julyan
Composer (Music Score)
Nathan Crowley
Production Designer
Kevin Kavanaugh
Art Director
Jordan Goldberg
Associate Producer
William Tyrer
Executive Producer
Charles Schlissel
Executive Producer
Valerie Dean
Executive Producer
Chris J. Ball
Executive Producer
Sally Thornton
Set Designer
Scott Zuber
Set Designer
Mark Lucero
Set Designer
Julie Ochipinti
Set Decorator
Toni Kehaulani Reed
Costume Designer
Tom Cummins
Costume Designer
Joan Bergin
Costume Designer
Jody Spilkoman
First Assistant Director
Alan B. Curtiss
First Assistant Director
Joni Avery
Megan Godfrey
Paul Lacavara
Ed Novick
Sound Mixer
John Papsidera
Alan Meyerson
Sound Mixer
Larry Sushinski
Assistant Chief Lighting Technician
Craig Fikse
Steadicam Operator
Jeffrey Caruso
Assistant Production Coordinator
Jesse Brackenbury
Animal Trainer/Wrangler
Mike Maccuish
First Assistant Accountant
Donna Marcione Pollack
Russ Fega
Location Manager
Tommy Tancharoen
Transportation Coordinator
Alan Meyerson
Jo Kissack
Stephane Ceretti
Visual Effects Supervisor
Marci Johnson
Antonio Almaraz
Paul Berolzheimer
Sound Effects Editor
Lawra Robertson
Personal Assistant
Stephen Vaughan
Still Photographer
Jeanie Daniels
Post Production Accountant
Scott Buckwald
Properties Master
Terry Baliel
Hair Styles
Heba Thorisdottir
Ricky Jay
Technical Advisor
Hans Zimmer
Executive Music Producer
Lora Hirschberg
Re-Recording Mixer
Gary Rizzo
Re-Recording Mixer
Chris Sador
Nancy Kirhoffer
Post Production Supervisor
Maggie Fung
Gregg Edler
Production Supervisor
Craig Okeson
Production Assistant
Alex Gibson
Music Editor
Michelle Schrauwers
Production Assistant
Shandra Beri
Alyson Moore
Foley Artist
Jeanne Kukor
Assistant Properties
Francois Duhamel
Still Photographer
Anthony Penido
Set Medic/First Aid
Scott Shapiro
Visual Effects Producer
April Krueger
Laura Rindner
Assistant Editor
Eric Gotthelf
ADR Mixer
Meghan Fraser
Animal Trainer/Wrangler
Naaman Marshall
Assistant Art Director
Scott Michels
Production Assistant
Kenny Myers
Monica Haines
Beatrice Springborn
Personal Assistant
Andrew Bock
First Assistant Sound Editor
Tom O'Connell
ADR Mixer
Rick Avery
Stunts Coordinator
Lynn Struiksma
Second Second Assistant Director
Carolyn Tapp
ADR Recordist
Beau Foster
Production Assistant
Linda Yeaney
First Assistant Sound Editor
Tom Whelpley
Transportation Captain
Daniel McFadden
Camera Loader
Tricia Yoo
Kenn Smiley
Key Costumer
Colin Dunning
Production Assistant
Guy Morrison
Assistant Location Manager
Cheryl Shawver
Animal Trainer/Wrangler
Christopher Flick
Foley Supervisor
Cory Geryak
Chief Lighting Technician
John Roesch
Foley Artist
Teresa Kelly
Post Production Supervisor
Cristen Carr Strubbe
Unit Production Manager
Henry Humphreys
Set Medic/First Aid
Shawn Williamson
Production Assistant
Nick Leclaire
Production Assistant
Rick Canelli
ADR Recordist
Lee Roeser
Animal Trainer/Wrangler
Michael Weber
Technical Advisor
Jennifer Cram
Casting Assistant