Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

Prancer Details


If you know the Clement Clark Moore poem, you'll know that Prancer is one of Santa Claus' "eight tiny reindeer." When 9-year-old Rebecca Harrell, who still believes in Santa despite the remonstrations of her parents and the taunts of her peers, stumbles across the selfsame Prancer in a remote part of the forest, no one will believe the girl. Later on, Harrell's no-nonsense father Sam Elliot comes across a wounded reindeer, he feels it his duty to put the suffering animal out of his misery. The deer, of course, is Prancer, and it magically vanishes before Elliot's startled eyes. Harrell nurses the deer back to health in secret, with the help of kindly doctor Abe Vigoda and her troublesome older brother John Joseph Duda. Harrell is determined to contact Santa and let him know where Prancer is, but her efforts only result in public humiliation for her father. But this is a Christmas film, and the spirit of goodwill is contagious by fadeout time, even transforming town-recluse Cloris Leachman into a warm-hearted social animal. Filmed in Indiana, Prancer isn't quite a classic, but it's perfect midwinter videocassette entertainment. ~ Hal Erickson, Rovi

  • Release date:November 17, 1989


Sam Elliott
as John Riggs
Rebecca Harrell
as Jessica Riggs
Cloris Leachman
as Mrs. McFarland
Rutanya Alda
as Aunt Sarah
Abe Vigoda
as Dr. Orel Benton, Veterinarian
Michael Constantine
as Mr. Stewart/Santa
Ariana Richards
as Carol Wetherby
Frank Welker
as Prancer
Belinda Bremner
as Miss Bedelia
Marcia Porter
as Mrs. Fairburn
John Duda
as Steve Riggs
Joseph Morano
as Boy with Santa
Sandra Olson
as Town Woman
Walter Charles
as Minister
Johnny Galecki
as Billy Quinn
Terry Jayjack
as Mrs. Wetherby
Victor Truro
as Mr. Young
Steven Pressler
as Hank
Loren Janes
as Mr. Soot
Dan Atherton
as Town Man
Mark Rolston
as Herb Drier
Bethany Richards
as (uncredited)
Eric Sardeson
as Boy
Jesse Bradford
as Boy
Michael Luciano
as Bert
Shirley Starnes
as Mrs. Hofsetter
Dale Balsbaugh
as Mr. Wood


John Hancock
Greg Taylor
Mikhail Suslov
Maurice Jarre
Composer (Music Score)
Maurice Jarre
Musical Direction/Supervision
Chester Kaczenski
Production Designer
William Badalato
Production Designer
Marc Dabe
Art Director
Mike Petzold
Raffaella de Laurentiis
Greg Taylor
Hester Hargett
Associate Producer
Denny Burt
Costume Designer
Mike Menzel
Special Effects
Bob Porter
Craig Campobasso