Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

Power Details


A star-studded cast portrays political movers and shakers in this drama about politics and the media. Richard Gere is Pete St. John, a gilt-edged "image" advisor to the likes of powerful and often crooked politicians -- including a South American candidate for the top office in his country and, reluctantly, a conservative industrialist named Jerome Cade (J.T. Walsh). Cade is after a Senate seat vacated by Sam Hastings (E.G. Marshall), a liberal politician who fits in with the views that Pete once upheld. When things start to go wrong, it looks like Cade's gruff advisor Arnold Billings (Denzel Washington) might hold one of the keys to Pete's discovery of the truth about Cade -- and may be the reason why Hastings is leaving his job. ~ Eleanor Mannikka, Rovi

  • Release date:January 31, 1986


Richard Gere
as Pete St. John
Julie Christie
as Ellen Freeman
Gene Hackman
as Wilfred Buckley
Kate Capshaw
as Sydney Betterman
Denzel Washington
as Arnold Billing
E.G. Marshall
as Sen. Sam Hastings
Beatrice Straight
as Claire Hastings
Fritz Weaver
as Wallace Furman
Michael Learned
as Gov. Andrea Stannard
J.T. Walsh
as Jerome Cade
E. Katherine Kerr
as Irene Furman
Polly Rowles
as Lucille DeWitt
Matt Salinger
as Phillip Aarons
Tom Mardirosian
as Sheikh
Kristi Witker
as Commentator
Timothy Jecko
as Business Executive
Brad Holbrook
as Commentator
Ed Van Nuys
as Charles Whiting
Janet Sarno
as Moderator
Gregory Wagrowski
as Assistant Director
Rick van Nutter
as Charles Whiting
Leila Danette
as Poor Woman
Jessica James
as Helen
Robert Fieldsteel
as Assistant Director
Frank Casey
as Commentator
Darryl Edwards
as Waiter
Jack Zahniser
as Pilot
John Evans
as 1st Senator
Scott Harlan
as Ralph Andropwicz
Donna Hanover
as Commentator
Marvin Scott
as Anchorman
Jim Hartz
as Commentator
Margaret Hall
as Commentator
Glenn Kezer
as Frank McKuster
Jackson Beck
as The Voice
Margaret Barker
as Wealthy Matron
Roger Grimsby
as Commentator
Elizabeth Kendrick
as Receptionist
Ron Stein
as Stunt Cameraman
Burke Pearson
as City Clerk
D.B. Sweeney
as College Student
Nick Flynn
as Wilson Jacobs
Kevin Hagen
as Cop
Martha Pinson
as Assistant


Sidney Lumet
Reene Schisgal
Mark Tarlov
Wolfgang Glattes
David Himmelstein
Andrzej Bartkowiak
Andrew Mondshein
Peter Larkin
Production Designer
William Barclay
Art Director
Laurencio Cordero
Special Effects
Joy Todd
Kenneth Utt
Production Manager
Joe Cranzano
Peter Odabashian
Sound Editor