Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

Pork Chop Hill Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

Pork Chop Hill was based on the eyewitness essays of ex-soldier S. L. A. Marshall. The film is set during the Korean "police action." While diplomats argue pointlessly over the shape of the negotiation tables at Panmunjon, United Nations troops bleed and die. Lieutenant [[Performer~P55747~Gregory Peck~gregorypeck]] leads a 135-man unit on the attack of the Chinese-held Pork Chop Hill. When reinforcements finally arrive, only 25 of Peck's men survive (and they aren't the usual survivors we've come to expect from earlier, cliché-ridden war films). Among the American troops are such dependable performers as [[Performer~P29073~Harry Guardino~harryguardino]], [[Performer~P68719~Woody Strode~woodystrode]], [[Performer~P114388~Rip Torn~riptorn]], [[Performer~P2752~Barry Atwater~barryatwater]], [[Performer~P55983~George Peppard~georgepeppard]], [[Performer~P82061~Robert Blake~robertblake]] and [[Performer~P40247~Martin Landau~martinlandau]]. Former cowboy-star [[Performer~P67813~Bob Steele~bobsteele]] also shows up briefly as an American general. According to director [[Performer~P102806~Lewis Milestone~lewismilestone]], Pork Chop Hill was cut by nearly twenty minutes because the wife of star [[Performer~P55747~Gregory Peck~gregorypeck]] felt that her husband made his first entrance too late into the picture. True or not, the film does show signs of post-production tampering, with flashes of several excised scenes showing up under the main title credits. ~ Hal Erickson, Rovi

Cast

Gregory Peck
as Lt. Joe Clemons
Harry Guardino
as Forstman
Rip Torn
as Lt. Russell
George Peppard
as Fedderson
George Shibata
as Lt. O'Hashi
James Edwards
as Corporal Jurgens
Woody Strode
as Franklin
Bob Steele
as Kern
Norman Fell
as Sgt. Coleman
Robert Blake
as Velie
Biff Elliot
as Boven
Barry Atwater
as Davis
Michael Garth
as S-2 Officer
Ken Lynch
as Gen. Trudeau
Paul Comi
as Sgt. Kreucheberg
Lew Gallo
as PI Officer
Cliff Ketchum
as Cpl. Payne
Martin Landau
as Marshall
Kevin Hagen
as Cpl. Kissell
Leonard Graves
as Lt. Cook
Syl Lamont
as Sgt. Kuzmick
John Alderman
as Lt. Waldorf
Charles Aidman
as Harrold
Buzz Martin
as Radio Operator
Bert Remsen
as Lt. Cummings
Gavin MacLeod
as Saxon
Harry Dean Stanton
as MacFarland
Carl Benton Reid

Crew

Lewis Milestone
Director
Sy Bartlett
Producer
James R. Webb
Screenwriter
Leonard Rosenman
Composer (Music Score)
George Boemler
Editor
Nicolai Remisoff
Production Designer
Edward Armand
Costume Designer
Eddie Armand
Costume Designer
David Koehler
Special Effects
Frank Prehoda
Makeup
Advertisement