Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

Point Blank Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

Based on [[Performer~P116486~Donald E. Westlake~donaldewestlake]]'s novel The Hunter, [[Performer~P82431~John Boorman~johnboorman]]'s gangster film hauntingly merges a generic revenge story with a European art cinema sensibility. In Alcatraz to divvy up the spoils from a robbery, thief Walker ([[Performer~P46149~Lee Marvin~leemarvin]]) is instead shot point blank by his double-crossing friend Mal Reese ([[Performer~P73373~John Vernon~johnvernon]]) and left to die while Reese takes off with Walker's wife Lynne ([[Performer~P181~Sharon Acker~sharonacker]]) and his $93,000. Resurrected, the stone-faced Walker returns to Los Angeles a couple of years later to seek revenge on Mal with the help of the enigmatic Yost ([[Performer~P77747~Keenan Wynn~keenanwynn]]) and Lynne's sister Chris ([[Performer~P19096~Angie Dickinson~angiedickinson]]). Wanting little but his cash, Walker implacably penetrates Mal's lair and the hierarchy of the shady "Organization," registering no emotion about the string of murders left in his wake, as his thoughts repeatedly return to the past that brought him there. In his first American feature, [[Performer~P82431~Boorman~johnboorman]] transforms a stripped-down revenge plot into a surreal meditation on the gangster's spiritual demise, using flashbacks and startling shifts in setting to interweave Walker's fractured memories with his extraordinarily photographed odyssey through L.A. [[Performer~P46149~Marvin~leemarvin]]'s chillingly stoic presence further hints at the ambiguities in Chris's observation that Walker "died at Alcatraz, all right." Brutal in the violence that it shows and suggests, Point Blank opened in the U.S. in the same period as [[Feature~V6614~Bonnie and Clyde~bonnieandclyde]], becoming one more testament to the genre-bending and ground-breaking possibilities of the nascent Hollywood New Wave. Although Point Blank was mostly overlooked in 1967, [[Performer~P82431~Boorman~johnboorman]]'s visual adventurousness, and [[Performer~P46149~Marvin~leemarvin]]'s amoral and apathetic antihero, have since made Point Blank seem one of the key films of the mid-late '60s, a precursor to revisionist experimentations from [[Performer~P110533~Martin Scorsese~martinscorsese]] to [[Performer~P113658~Quentin Tarantino~quentintarantino]]. It was remade as the 1999 [[Performer~P91479~Mel Gibson~melgibson]] vehicle [[Feature~V175687~Payback~payback]]. ~ Lucia Bozzola, Rovi

  • Release date:August 30, 1967

Cast

Lee Marvin
as Walker
Angie Dickinson
as Chris
Keenan Wynn
as Fairfax
Carroll O'Connor
as Brewster
John Vernon
as Mal Reese
Sharon Acker
as Lynne
Lloyd Bochner
as Frederick Carter
James B. Sikking
as Hired Gun
Sandra Warner
as Waitress
Roberta Haynes
as Mrs. Carter
Kathleen Freeman
as 1st Citizen
Victor Creatore
as Carter's Man
Lawrence Hauben
as Car Salesman
Susan Holloway
as Customer
Sid Haig
as Guard
Michael Patrick Bell
as Penthouse Lobby Guard
Priscilla Boyd
as Receptionist
Rico Cattani
as Guard
Lou Whitehill
as Policeman
Chuck Hicks
as Guard
Carey Foster
as Dancer
Joseph Mell
as Man
Ted White
as Football Player
Felix Silla
as Bellhop

Crew

John Boorman
Director
Judd Bernard
Producer
Robert Chartoff
Producer
Alexander Jacobs
Screenwriter
Rafe Newhouse
Screenwriter
Philip H. Lathrop
Cinematographer
Johnny Mandel
Composer (Music Score)
Stu Gardner
Songwriter
Henry Berman
Editor
George W. Davis
Art Director
Albert Brenner
Art Director
Henry W. Grace
Set Designer
Keogh Gleason
Set Designer
Margo Weintz
Costume Designer
Virgil Beck
Special Effects
John Truwe
Makeup
William J. Tuttle
Makeup
Advertisement