Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: Now

Playing by Heart Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

Sophomore writer/director [[Performer~P84300~Willard Carroll~willardcarroll]] weaves together an all-star cast in interlocking stories about finding love in Los Angeles. The film's theme is spoken by young club-hopper Joan ([[Performer~P36009~Angelina Jolie~angelinajolie]]). Taken by the mysterious Keenan ([[Performer~P200610~Ryan Phillippe~ryanphillippe]]), she tells him that "talking about love" is like "dancing about architecture" (the original title until the studio thought it would be confused with [[Feature~V173467~Dancing at Lughnasa~dancingatlughnasa]]), meaning speech is not the medium to adequately express the details of love. They all try, anyway. Others up for the dance include a TV cooking-show hostess ([[Performer~P61889~Gena Rowlands~genarowlands]]) and her husband ([[Performer~P10646~Sean Connery~seanconnery]]) who still fight over his one brief infidelity 25 years earlier; two lovers ([[Performer~P68576~Madeline Stowe~madeleinestowe]], [[Performer~P21217~Anthony Edwards~anthonyedwards]]) who discuss their unhappy marriages; and a theater director ([[Performer~P236974~Gillian Anderson~gilliananderson]]) and her architect, Mr. Right ([[Performer~P235015~Jon Stewart~jonstewart]]). Also searching are [[Performer~P58161~Dennis Quaid~dennisquaid]], [[Performer~P38430~Nastassja Kinski~nastassjakinski]] and [[Performer~P13504~Patricia Clarkson~patriciaclarkson]]. For a familial sort of love, there's [[Performer~P9777~Ellen Burstyn~ellenburstyn]] as the estranged mother to her son ([[Performer~P215840~Jay Mohr~jaymohr]]) dying of AIDS. ~ Ron Wells, Rovi

  • Release date:December 30, 1998

Crew

Willard Carroll
Director
Willard Carroll
Producer
Meg Liberman
Producer
Thomas L. Wilhite
Producer
Willard Carroll
Screenwriter
Vilmos Zsigmond
Cinematographer
John Barry
Composer (Music Score)
Timothy R. Sexton
Musical Direction/Supervision
Pietro Scalia
Editor
Missy Stewart
Production Designer
Paul Feldsher
Executive Producer
Harvey Weinstein
Executive Producer
Guy East
Executive Producer
Bob Weinstein
Executive Producer
Nigel Sinclair
Executive Producer
April Ferry
Costume Designer
David Witz
Co-Executive Producer
Advertisement