Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: Now

Planet of the Apes Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

Originally intended as a project for [[Performer~P88685~Blake Edwards~blakeedwards]], the film version of Pierre Boule's semisatiric sci-fi novel came to the screen in 1968 under the directorial guidance of [[Performer~P110104~Franklin J. Schaffner~franklinjschaffner]]. [[Performer~P94233~Charlton Heston~charltonheston]] is George Taylor, one of several astronauts on a long, long space mission whose spaceship crash-lands on a remote planet, seemingly devoid of intelligent life. Soon the astronaut learns that this planet is ruled by a race of talking, thinking, reasoning apes who hold court over a complex, multilayered civilization. In this topsy-turvy society, the human beings are grunting, inarticulate primates, penned-up like animals. When ape leader Dr. Zaius ([[Performer~P22281~Maurice Evans~mauriceevans]]) discovers that the captive Taylor has the power of speech, he reacts in horror and insists that the astronaut be killed. But sympathetic ape scientists Cornelius ([[Performer~P47310~Roddy McDowell~roddymcdowall]]) and Dr. Zira ([[Performer~P34023~Kim Hunter~kimhunter]]) risk their lives to protect Taylor -- and to discover the secret of their planet's history that Dr. Zaius and his minions guard so jealously. In the end, it is Taylor who stumbles on the truth about the Planet of the Apes: "Damn you! Damn you! Goddamn you all to hell!" Scripted by [[Performer~P110843~Rod Serling~rodserling]] and [[Performer~P116994~Michael Wilson~michaelwilson]] (a former blacklistee who previously adapted another Pierre Boule novel, [[Feature~V7112~Bridge on the River Kwai~thebridgeontheriverkwai]]), Planet of the Apes has gone on to be an all-time sci-fi (and/or camp) classic. It won a special Academy Award for [[Performer~P159090~John Chambers~johnchambers]]'s convincing (and, from all accounts, excruciatingly uncomfortable) simian makeup. It spawned four successful sequels, as well as two TV series, one live-action and one animated. ~ Hal Erickson, Rovi

  • Release date:July 27, 2001

Awards

Awarded by
Nominee
Category
Year
Status
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Morton Haack Best Costume Design 1968 Nominee
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Jerry Goldsmith Best Original Score 1968 Nominee

Cast

Charlton Heston
as Taylor
Roddy McDowall
as Cornelius
Kim Hunter
as Zira
Maurice Evans
as Zaius
James Whitmore
as President of the Assembly
James Daly
as Honorius
Linda Harrison
as Nova
Lou Wagner
as Lucius
Woodrow Parfrey
as Maximus
Buck Kartalian
as Julius
Diane Stanley
as Female Astronaut
Norman Burton
as Hunt Leader
Robert Gunner
as Landon

Crew

Franklin J. Schaffner
Director
Mort Abrahams
Producer
Rod Serling
Screenwriter
Michael Wilson
Screenwriter
Pierre Boulle
Book Author
Leon Shamroy
Cinematographer
Jerry Goldsmith
Composer (Music Score)
Jack Martin Smith
Art Director
Walter Scott
Set Designer
Norman Rockett
Set Designer
Morton Haack
Costume Designer
Herman Lewis
Sound/Sound Designer
David Dockendorf
Sound/Sound Designer
Art Cruickshank
Special Effects
William Kissell
First Assistant Director
Advertisement