Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: Now

The Pirates! Band of Misfits Details


Set sail for fun with this family-friendly Aardman Animations adventure following a bumbling, abundantly bearded scallywag who competes against his two biggest rivals for the title Pirate of the Year. Try as he might, the Pirate Captain (Hugh Grant) just can't be taken seriously as a plunderer. But that might change if he could only manage to win the Pirate of the Year competition. As the event gets under way, the Pirate Captain makes it his mission to leave dreaded foes Black Bellamy (Jeremy Piven) and Cutlass Liz (Salma Hayek) sinking in his wake. Before that can happen, though, the determined Pirate Captain will have to seek out the help of a love-struck scientist (David Tennant) and defeat a malevolent queen (Imelda Staunton), who might just send him down to Davy Jones' Locker. ~ Jason Buchanan, Rovi


Awarded by
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Peter Lord Best Animated Feature 2012 Nominee


Hugh Grant
as The Pirate Captain
Brendan Gleeson
as The Pirate with Gout
Martin Freeman
as The Pirate with a Scarf
David Tennant
as Charles Darwin
Imelda Staunton
as Queen Victoria
Brian Blessed
as The Pirate King
Jeremy Piven
as Black Bellamy
Salma Hayek
as Cutlass Liz
Lenny Henry
as Peg-Leg Hastings
Anton Yelchin
as The Albino Pirate
Ashley Jensen
as The Surprisingly Curvaceous Pirate
Al Roker
as The Pirate who Likes Sunsets and Kittens
David Schneider
as Scarlett Morgan
Tom Doggart
as Additional Voices
Peter Lord
as Additional Voices
David Schaal
as Additional Voices
Ben Whitehead
as Additional Voices


Peter Lord
Peter Lord
David Sproxton
Frank Passingham
Theodore Shapiro
Composer (Music Score)
Justin Krish
Norman Garwood
Production Designer
Matt Perry
Supervising Art Director
Sarah Hauldren
Art Director
Carla Shelley
Executive Producer
Ben Barrowman
First Assistant Director
Kate Rhodes James
Gavin Greenaway
Rejean Bourdages
Head of Story
Andy Nelson
Re-Recording Mixer
Adrian Rhodes
Supervising Sound Editor
Loyd Price
Animation Director
Ian Whitlock
Lead Animator
Andrew Morley
Visual Effects Supervisor
Will Norie
Sound Effects Editor
Tom Doggart
Assistant Editor
Jay Grace
Supervising Animator
Anthony Bayman
Sound Editor
Malcolm Lamont
Key Animator
Carlos Grangel
Character Design
Dug Calder
Key Animator
Joe Bourbon
Set Dresser
Tara Knowles
Post Production Manager