Share

Watch It

On DVD: TBD | On Blu-ray: TBD

Pieces d'Identites Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

Congolese filmmaker [[Performer~P265068~Mweze Ngangura~mwezengangura]], who made the 1987 [[Feature~V140851~La Vie Est Belle~lavieestbelle]] with [[Performer~P98580~Benoit Lamy~benoitlamy]], directed this Belgian-French-Congolese comedy about a Congolese king in contemporary Brussels. The title refers to "identity pieces" worn under a business suit to signify regal traditions. [[Performer~P264030~Gerard Essomba~gerardessomba]] (the actual grandson of a king) portrays Mani Kongo, King of the Bakongo. Arriving in Brussels on a search for his daughter Mwana-Mwata ([[Performer~P264245~Dominique Mesa~dominiquemesa]]), King Kongo is unaware that she did time in prison and now dates cabdriver Chaka-Jo (composer [[Performer~P264008~Jean-Louis Daulne~jeanlouisdaulne]]). In a near miss, King Kongo's ride from the airport is in Chaka-Jo's taxi. Policeman and former colonial administrator Jefke Schengen ([[Performer~P23749~Herbert Flack~herbertflack]]) has Mwana dancing at a club, while Mwana's roommate Safi ([[Performer~P264134~Cecilia Kandonda~ceciliakankonda]]) enters into a romance with royal nephew Mayele ([[Performer~P264209~Thilombo Lubambu~thilombolubambu]]). Ngangura found some cast members of this film while making his documentary [[Feature~V352~Letter to Makura~abriveledermamen]] (1995). The [[Performer~P264008~Jean-Louis Daulne~jeanlouisdaulne]] music track features soukous singer [[Performer~P206380~Papa Wemba~papawemba]] in a performance of the title tune. Shown at the 1998 Toronto Film Festival. ~ Bhob Stewart, Rovi

Crew

Mweze Ngangura
Director
Mweze Ngangura
Producer
Mweze Ngangura
Screenwriter
Jacques Besse
Cinematographer
Papa Wemba
Composer (Music Score)
Jean-Louis Daulne
Composer (Music Score)
Ingrid Ralet
Editor
France Duez
Editor
Andre Fonsny
Art Director
Isabelle Mathy
Executive Producer
Agnes Dubois
Costume Designer
Frank Struys
Sound/Sound Designer
Manu Kamanda
First Assistant Director
Advertisement