Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: Now

Peter Pan Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

A pet project of [[Performer~P87871~Walt Disney~waltdisney]]'s since 1939, this animated version of James M. Barrie's [[Feature~V72251~Peter Pan~peterpan]] reached full fruition in 1953. Eschewing much of Barrie's gentle whimsy (not to mention the more sinister aspects of the leading character), Disney and his staff fashioned a cheery, tuneful cartoon extravaganza, which cost $4 million and reaped several times that amount. The straightforward story concerns the Darling family, specifically the children: Wendy, Michael and John. Wendy enjoys telling her younger siblings stories about the mythical Peter Pan, the little boy who never grew up. One night, much to everyone's surprise, Peter flies into the Darling nursery, in search of his shadow, which Wendy had previously captured. Sprinkling the kids with magic pixie dust, Peter flies off to Never-Never Land, with Wendy, Michael and John following behind. Once in Peter's domain, the children are terrorized by Captain Hook, who intends to capture Peter and do away with him. After rescuing Indian princess Tiger Lily from Captain Hook, Peter must save the children, not to mention his own "Lost Boys," from the diabolical pirate captain. In addition, he must contend with the jealousy of tiny sprite Tinker Bell, who doesn't like Wendy one little bit. Breaking with several traditions, Peter had been played by a girl in all previous incarnations, Tinker Bell had always been depicted by a shaft of light, etc ... this "Disneyized" version of [[Feature~V72251~Peter Pan~peterpan]] may not be authentic James Barrie, but it has never failed to enthrall audiences of all ages. Adding to the fun are the spirited voiceover performances by [[Performer~P20171~Bobby Driscoll~bobbydriscoll]] (Peter), [[Performer~P14584~Hans Conried~hansconried]] (Captain Hook and Mr. Darling), [[Performer~P4828~Kathryn Beaumont~kathrynbeaumont]] (Wendy) and [[Performer~P70669~Bill Thompson~billthompson]] (Smee), and the sprightly songs by [[Performer~P83819~Sammy Cahn~sammycahn]], [[Performer~P89295~Sammy Fain~sammyfain]], [[Performer~P74370~Ollie Wallace~olliewallace]], [[Performer~P106033~Erdman Penner~erdmanpenner]], [[Performer~P110625~Ted Sears~tedsears]], [[Performer~P94284~Winston Hibler~winstonhibler]], [[Performer~P84957~Frank Churchill~frankchurchill]] and Jack Lawrence. ~ Hal Erickson, Rovi

  • Release date:December 25, 2003

Cast

Bobby Driscoll
as Peter Pan
Kathryn Beaumont
as Wendy
Hans Conried
as Capt. Hook
Hans Conried
as Mr. Darling
Heather Angel
as Mrs. Darling
Paul Collins
as John
Tommy Luske
as Michael
Candy Candido
as Indian Chief
Tom Conway
as Narrator
Don Barclay
Roland DuPree

Crew

Clyde Geronimi
Director
Hamilton Luske
Director
Wilfred Jackson
Director
Walt Disney
Producer
Ralph Wright
Screenwriter
William Cottrell
Screenwriter
Erdman Penner
Screenwriter
Bill Peet
Screenwriter
Joe Rinaldi
Screenwriter
Winston Hibler
Screenwriter
Ted Sears
Screenwriter
Milt Banta
Screenwriter
Oliver Wallace
Composer (Music Score)
Frank Churchill
Songwriter
Sammy Cahn
Songwriter
Donald Halliday
Editor
Donald Da Gradi
Set Designer
Mary Blair
Set Designer
John Hench
Set Designer
Claude Coats
Set Designer
Daniel MacManus
Special Effects
Joshua Meador
Special Effects
George Rowley
Special Effects
Blaine Gibson
Special Effects
Al Zinnen
Consultant/advisor
Tom Codrick
Consultant/advisor
Don Griffith
Consultant/advisor
Lance Nolley
Consultant/advisor
Hugh Hennesy
Consultant/advisor
Thor Putnam
Consultant/advisor
Mac Stewart
Consultant/advisor
Charles Philippi
Consultant/advisor
Kendall O'Connor
Consultant/advisor
Art Stevens
Animator
Eric Cleworth
Animator
Les Clark
Animator
Bill Justice
Animator
Harvey Toombs
Animator
Marc Davis
Animator
Clair Weeks
Animator
Cliff Nordberg
Animator
Don Lusk
Animator
Marvin Woodward
Animator
Hal King
Animator
Hal Ambro
Animator
John Lounsbery
Animator
Judge Whitaker
Animator
Ward Kimball
Animator
Jerry Hathcock
Animator
Fred Moore
Animator
Norman Ferguson
Animator
Milt Kahl
Animation Director
Brice Mack
Background Artist
Wolfgang Reitherman
Animation Director
Advertisement