Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: Now

The Perfect Storm Details


In October 1991, a dying tropical hurricane from Bermuda collided with a cold front from the Great Lakes, resulting in a "perfect storm" of previously unknown destructive impact that resulted in 100-foot waves; tragically, the crew of a fishing boat was lost in the midst of the fearsome storm. Based on the best-selling book by Sebastian Junger, The Perfect Storm tells the story of the ship's brave and hard-working crew. Billy Tyne (George Clooney), captain of the Andrea Gail, hasn't had much luck finding catch on his most recent trips to sea, and with money short, he and his crew -- Bob Shatford (Mark Wahlberg), Dale Murphy (John C. Reilly), and David Sullivan (William Fichtner) set out again when they hear that the fish are running. Billy's hunch proves correct, but when the ship's refrigeration system goes haywire, they have to return to shore as quickly as possible before the fish spoil, sending them into the middle of the worst storm in history. The supporting cast includes Mary Elziabeth Mastrantonio, Diane Lane, Bob Gunton, and Karen Allen; Wolfgang Petersen, whose breakthrough film was the aquatic wartime drama Wolfgang Petersen, directed. ~ Mark Deming, Rovi

  • Release date:June 26, 2000


Awarded by
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences John Reitz Best Sound 2000 Nominee
American Society of Cinematographers John Seale Best Cinematography 2000 Nominee
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Stefen Fangmeier Best Visual Effects 2000 Nominee
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Walt Conti Best Visual Effects 2000 Nominee
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Keith A. Wester Best Sound 2000 Nominee
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences John Frazier Best Visual Effects 2000 Nominee
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Gregg Rudloff Best Sound 2000 Nominee


George Clooney
as Capt. Billy Tyne
Mark Wahlberg
as Bobby Shatford
John C. Reilly
as Dale "Murph" Murphy
Diane Lane
as Christine Cotter
William Fichtner
as David "Sully' Sullivan
John Hawkes
as Michael "Bugsy" Moran
Allen Payne
as Alfred Pierre
Mary Elizabeth Mastrantonio
as Linda Greenlaw
Karen Allen
as Melissa Brown
Cherry Jones
as Edie Bailey
Bob Gunton
as Alexander McAnally III
Christopher McDonald
as Todd Gross
Dash Mihok
as Sgt. Jeremy Mitchell
Josh Hopkins
as Capt. Darryl Ennis
Michael Ironside
as Bob Brown
Rusty Schwimmer
as Irene "Big Red" Johnson
Janet Wright
as Ethel Shatford
Billy Mayo
as C-130 pilot


Wolfgang Petersen
Wolfgang Petersen
Gail Katz
Paula Weinstein
Bo Goldman
William D. Wittliff
Sebastian Junger
Book Author
John Seale
Maureen Crowe
Musical Direction/Supervision
James Horner
Composer (Music Score)
Jerry Cantrell
Richard Francis-Bruce
William Sandell
Production Designer
Charles Butcher
Art Director
Bruce Crone
Supervising Art Director
Alan B. Curtiss
Associate Producer
Brian McNulty
Associate Producer
Barry Levinson
Executive Producer
Duncan Henderson
Executive Producer
Doug Meerdink
Set Designer
Bill Taliaferro
Set Designer
John Leimanis
Set Designer
Bruce K. West
Set Designer
Ernie Bishop
Set Decorator
Erica Phillips
Costume Designer
Keith A. Wester
Sound/Sound Designer
Alan B. Curtiss
First Assistant Director
Janet Hirshenson
Jane Jenkins
Stefen Fangmeier
Visual Effects Supervisor
Wylie Stateman
Supervising Sound Editor
David R. Ellis
Second Unit Director
Norman Page
Second Unit Makeup
Walt Lloyd
Second Unit Director Of Photography
John Frazier
Special Effects Supervisor
Kevin Bartnof
Foley Artist
Diana Rathbun
Production Executive