Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

People Are Funny Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

[[Performer~P42577~Art Linkletter~artlinkletter]] had only recently taken over the popular audience-participation radio series People are Funny from [[Performer~P3364~Art Baker~artbaker]] when he appeared as "himself" in this lighthearted musical comedy. The film's plot concerns a rivalry between two radio producers, both of whom want to produce a weekly radio series in which audience members indulge in silly stunts for huge cash prizes. A romance develops between supposedly slow-on-the-uptake radio producer Pinky Wilson ([[Performer~P29700~Jack Haley~jackhaley]]) and writer Corey Sullivan ([[Performer~P74247~Helen Walker~helenwalker]]), while wealthy sponsor Ormsby Jamison ([[Performer~P72689~Rudy Vallee~rudyvallee]]) tries to determine if People are Funny is a saleable concept. [[Performer~P104254~Ozzie Nelson~ozzienelson]] costars as Wilson's business rival, [[Performer~P40467~Frances Langford~franceslangford]] shows up for a song, and future [[Performer~P70872~3 Stooges~thethreestooges]] member [[Performer~P17955~Joe DeRita~curlyjoederita]] has a funny bit as a contestant. ~ Hal Erickson, Rovi

Cast

Jack Haley
as Pinky Wilson
Rudy Vallee
as Ormsby Jamison
Ozzie Nelson
as Leroy Brinker
Phillip Reed
as John Guedel
Clara Blandick
as Grandma
Roy Atwell
as Mr. Pippensiegal
Lillian Molieri
Frances Langford
as Frances Langford
Wheaton Chambers

Crew

Maxwell Shane
Screenwriter
Fred Jackman, Jr.
Cinematographer
David Chudnow
Musical Direction/Supervision
David Chudnow
Composer (Music Score)
Henry Adams
Editor
Advertisement