Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: Now

Pearl Harbor Details


At the time of its release, this lavish period war drama from hyperkinetic director Michael Bay became the most expensive motion picture ever green-lighted by a studio. Ben Affleck stars as Rafe McCawley, a military pilot stationed under Jimmy Doolittle (Alec Baldwin) in New Jersey, along with his best friend from childhood, Danny Walker (Josh Hartnett). Rafe is chomping at the bit to get involved in World War II, but America has not entered the conflict, so he is forced to fight on loan to the Royal Air Force in Britain, leaving behind his beautiful girlfriend Evelyn (Kate Beckinsale). After Rafe goes overseas, both Danny and Evelyn are transferred to the naval base in Pearl Harbor, Hawaii, where word arrives that Rafe has been killed in action. A grief-stricken Evelyn and Danny become romantically attached, a situation that becomes a lit powder keg when Rafe suddenly reappears, having survived his ordeal in the European war. The Japanese attack on Pearl Harbor puts the romantic triangle on hold, as the best friends are ordered to undertake a top-secret and highly dangerous retaliatory mission to bomb Tokyo, once again under the command of Doolittle. Although the trio of leads are entirely fictional, Cuba Gooding Jr., Tom Sizemore, and Jon Voight (as FDR) co-star in the roles of real-life historical figures. Pearl Harbor is based on a script by Randall Wallace, writer of Braveheart (1995) and The Man in the Iron Mask (1998). Taking a page from the production history of James Cameron's Titanic (1997), many of the actors and filmmakers involved with Pearl Harbor deferred their usual salaries until the film "broke even" at the box office. ~ Karl Williams, Rovi

  • Release date:May 21, 2001


Awarded by
American Society of Cinematographers John Schwartzman Best Cinematography 2001 Nominee
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Ben Snow Best Visual Effects 2001 Nominee
Hollywood Foreign Press Association Hans Zimmer Best Original Score 2001 Nominee
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences George Watters II Best Sound Editing 2001 Winner
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Peter Devlin Best Sound 2001 Nominee
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Kevin O'Connell Best Sound 2001 Nominee
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Greg P. Russell Best Sound 2001 Nominee
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences John Frazier Best Visual Effects 2001 Nominee
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Christopher Boyes Best Sound Editing 2001 Winner
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Eric Brevig Best Visual Effects 2001 Nominee


Ben Affleck
as Rafe McCawley
Josh Hartnett
as Danny Walker
Kate Beckinsale
as Evelyn Johnson
Cuba Gooding, Jr.
as Doris "Dorie" Miller
Tom Sizemore
as Earl
Jon Voight
as Franklin D. Roosevelt
Colm Feore
as Admiral Kimmel
as Admiral Yamamoto
Alec Baldwin
as Jimmy Doolittle
William Lee Scott
as Billy
Michael Shannon
as Gooz
Scott Wilson
as General Marshall
Peter Firth
as Captain of the West Virginia
James King
as Betty
Catherine Kellner
as Barbara
Jennifer Garner
as Sandra
Dan Aykroyd
as Captain Thurman
William Fichtner
as Danny's Father
Frederick Koehler
as Wounded Sailor #3
Sara Rue
as Martha
Ewen Bremner
as 1st Lt. Red Winkle
Bret Roberts
as Baja Sailor No. 7
Jesse James
as Young Rafe McCawley
Guy Torry
as Seaman Teeny Mayfield


Michael Bay
Jerry Bruckheimer
Michael Bay
Randall Wallace
John Schwartzman
Bob Badami
Musical Direction/Supervision
Kathy Nelson
Musical Direction/Supervision
Hans Zimmer
Composer (Music Score)
Roger Barton
Steven Rosenblum
Mark Goldblatt
Chris Lebenzon
Nigel Phelps
Production Designer
Martin Laing
Supervising Art Director
Jon Billington
Art Director
Jennifer Klein
Associate Producer
K.C. Hodenfield
Associate Producer
Pat Sandston
Associate Producer
Chad Oman
Executive Producer
Bruce Hendricks
Executive Producer
Randall Wallace
Executive Producer
Barry H. Waldman
Executive Producer
Mike Stenson
Executive Producer
Dean Wolcott
Set Designer
William Hawkins
Set Designer
Stan Tropp
Set Designer
Aric Lasher
Set Designer
Lois G. Hoyos
Set Designer
Michael Kaplan
Costume Designer
Jennifer Williams
Set Decorator
Ethan Van der Ryn
Sound/Sound Designer
Peter Devlin
Sound/Sound Designer
K.C. Hodenfield
First Assistant Director
Mary Soan
First Assistant Director
Pete Antico
Bonnie Timmermann
George Watters II
Supervising Sound Editor
Eric Brevig
Visual Effects Supervisor
Eric Brevig
Second Unit Director
Christopher Boyes
Supervising Sound Editor
David Nowell
Aerial Photography
Ben Snow
Visual Effects
Andy Gill
Stunts Coordinator
Alan Purwin
Aerial Photography
Steve Picerni
Stunts Coordinator