Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: Now

Peace, Love & Misunderstanding Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

Director [[Performer~P81500~Bruce Beresford~bruceberesford]] brings [[Performer~P24098~Jane Fonda~janefonda]] back to the screen in this comedy-drama about a mother and daughter who have precious little in common. Diane ([[Performer~P37341~Catherine Keener~catherinekeener]]) is a straight-laced Republican lawyer who lives in Manhattan with her teenage children Zoe ([[Performer~P679679~Elizabeth Olsen~elizabetholsen]]) and Jake ([[Performer~P455738~Nat Wolff~natwolff]]). However, Diane's marriage to Mark ([[Performer~P44254~Kyle MacLachlan~kylemaclachlan]]) has fallen apart, and after receiving the final divorce papers, she needs to get out of the city for a while. Diane and her kids head to upstate New York, where she's decided it's time they met her mother Grace ([[Performer~P24098~Jane Fonda~janefonda]]). Unlike her daughter, Grace was and is a proud hippie, the unofficial leader of the town's countercultural community who supports herself by selling marijuana. Grace and Diane haven't spoken for nearly twenty years, and just as Grace hasn't changed a bit over the years, Diane hasn't found a way to forgive her for her failings as a parent. As mother and daughter get reacquainted, Zoe has her head turned by Cole ([[Performer~P440977~Chace Crawford~chacecrawford]]), even though he's a butcher and she doesn't eat meat, and Jake falls for Tara ([[Performer~P715664~Marissa O'Donnell~marissaodonnell]]), who he meets at a coffee shop. And as Diane searches for common ground with Grace, she also finds time to be romanced by local musician Jude ([[Performer~P50599~Jeffrey Dean Morgan~jeffreydeanmorgan]]). Peace, Love, & Misunderstanding received its world premiere at the 2011 Toronto International Film Festival. ~ Mark Deming, Rovi

  • Release date:June 8, 2012

Cast

Jane Fonda
as Grace
Catherine Keener
as Diane
Elizabeth Olsen
as Zoe
Chace Crawford
as Cole
Jeffrey Dean Morgan
as Jude
Kyle MacLachlan
as Mark
Rosanna Arquette
as Darcy
Nat Wolff
as Jake
Ann Osmond
as Cindy
Joyce Van Patten
as Mariam
Maddie Corman
as Carol
Denise Burse
as Angel
Terry McKenna
as Jasper
Katharine McPhee
as Sara
Alison Ball
as Party Guest Woman
Dana Chaifetz
as Astrologer

Crew

Bruce Beresford
Director
André Fleuren
Cinematographer
John David Allen
Editor
Carl Sprague
Production Designer
Paul Schnee
Casting Director
Kerry Barden
Casting Director
Advertisement