Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

Paulie Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

In the [[Feature~V134903~Babe~babe]] tradition of talking animatronic animals, this comedy adventure gets underway when animal-research-lab janitor Misha ([[Performer~P64745~Tony Shalhoub~tonyshalhoub]]) expresses concern for a Blue-crown Conure parrot named Paulie (voice of [[Performer~P215840~Jay Mohr~jaymohr]]) caged in a dank basement. Misha settles back as Paulie tells his life story, seen in flashback: When Paulie was owned by little Marie ([[Performer~P237361~Hallie Kate Eisenberg~halliekateeisenberg]]), the parrot helped the little girl get rid of her stutter. After Marie tried to teach Paulie how to fly, he wound up in a pawnshop owned by Artie ([[Performer~P29471~Buddy Hackett~buddyhackett]]), where he got an education in one-liners. Paulie and Ivy ([[Performer~P61889~Gena Rowlands~genarowlands]]) learn Marie's family is in LA, so Ivy agrees to drive Paulie cross-country in her RV. However, Marie goes blind and dies. Paulie is forced to fly to LA, where small-time entrepreneur Ignacio ([[Performer~P101237~Cheech Marin~cheechmarin]]), with an eye for talent, talons and tacos, puts Paulie to work as a dancer at his taco-stand, where Paulie gets a birds-eye view of a female parrot with pretty plumage. Unfortunately, researcher Dr. Reingold ([[Performer~P17454~Bruce Davison~brucedavison]]), convinced Paulie can bring him academic recognition, steps in with a false promise to link the parrot up with Marie. Betrayed, Paulie refuses to speak anything other than the standard "want-a-cracker" lines, resulting in solitary confinement. Misha, who knows why the caged bird talks, hopes to free Paulie for an eventual reunion with Marie. Animal stunt coordinator [[Performer~P147602~Boone Narr~boonenarr]] and [[Performer~P117079~Stan Winston~stanwinston]] animatronics brought Paulie to life. For another fine-feathered film, see [[Performer~P107916~Dean Riesner~deanriesner]]'s [[Feature~V5539~Bill and Coo~billcoo]] (1947); the film's all-bird cast (dressed in human clothing) brought a "Special Award" for producer [[Performer~P103871~Ken Murray~kenmurray]] during the 1948 Oscar ceremony. ~ Bhob Stewart, Rovi

  • Release date:April 17, 1998

Cast

Gena Rowlands
as Ivy
Jay Mohr
as Paulie
Tia Texada
as Lupe
Tony Shalhoub
as Misha
Cheech Marin
as Ignacio
Bruce Davison
as Dr. Reingold
Trini Alvarado
as Adult Marie
Buddy Hackett
as Artie
Hallie Kate Eisenberg
as Marie
Matt Craven
as Warren Alweather
Bill Cobbs
as Virgil
Tia Texada
as Ruby
Laura Harrington
as Lila Alweather

Crew

Allison Lyon Segan
Producer
Gary Levinsohn
Producer
Laurie Craig
Screenwriter
Tony Pierce-Roberts
Cinematographer
John Debney
Composer (Music Score)
Bruce Cannon
Editor
Dennis Washington
Production Designer
Tom Taylor
Art Director
Michele Weisler
Co-producer
Ginny Nugent
Executive Producer
Denise Pizzini
Set Designer
Mary Zophres
Costume Designer
Joseph Geisinger
Sound/Sound Designer
Sony Pictures Imageworks
Special Effects
Jeff Rafner
First Assistant Director
Randi Hiller
Casting
Risa Bramon Garcia
Casting
Sarah Halley-Finn
Casting
Mark Vargo
Second Unit Director
Mark Vargo
Second Unit Director Of Photography
Advertisement