Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

The Patsy Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

Toward the end of [[Performer~P99633~Jerry Lewis~jerrylewis]]'s Paramount studio period, [[Performer~P99633~Lewis~jerrylewis]] slapped together this bitter comedy about Hollywood phoniness and fame that has to be the most rancid portrait of the Hollywood star system in the Rat Pack era this side of [[Performer~P104944~Clifford Odets~cliffordodets]]. When a famous entertainer suddenly is killed in an airplane crash, his team of flunkies -- producer Caryl Fergusson ([[Performer~P66248~Everett Sloane~everettsloane]]), writer Chic Wymore ([[Performer~P30668~Phil Harris~philharris]]), press agent Harry Silver ([[Performer~P77747~Keenan Wynn~keenanwynn]]), director Morgan Heywood ([[Performer~P100174~Peter Lorre~peterlorre]] in his final film role), valet Bruce Alden ([[Performer~P11228~John Carradine~johncarradine]]), and secretary Ellen Betz ([[Performer~P3554~Ina Balin~inabalin]]) -- decide to continue their life style by finding a complete unknown and manufacturing him into a Hollywood star. That unknown turns out to be the nervous and inept bellboy Stanley Belt ([[Performer~P99633~Jerry Lewis~jerrylewis]]). They train Stanley to become an over-night singing sensation, and despite a disastrous recording session and a failed nightclub performance, the public relations blitz makes Stanley's recording of "I Lost My Heart in a Drive-In Movie" a smash single. So much so that Stanley is given a shot at appearing on "[[Feature~V216975~The Ed Sullivan Show~theedsullivanshow[tvseries]]]." Expecting the worst, Stanley's management team abandons him right before his performance. But Stanley musters up enough confidence to go on the live program alone and manages to surprise his pessimistic ex-staff. A collection of Hollywood celebrities circa 1964 --[[Performer~P58473~George Raft~georgeraft]], [[Performer~P77743~Ed Wynn~edwynn]], [[Performer~P113209~Ed Sullivan~edsullivan]], [[Performer~P71390~Mel Torme~meltormé]], [[Performer~P23871~Rhonda Fleming~rhondafleming]] and [[Performer~P33223~Hedda Hopper~heddahopper]] -- make cameo appearances. High spots include an apocalyptic music lesson with voice teacher Dr. Mule-rrr ([[Performer~P14584~Hans Conried~hansconried]]), [[Performer~P113209~Ed Sullivan~edsullivan]] performing a bizarre impersonation of himself, and an ending that would make even [[Performer~P91804~Jean-Luc Godard~jeanlucgodard]] blush. ~ Paul Brenner, Rovi

Cast

Jerry Lewis
as Stanley Belt
Ina Balin
as Ellen Betz
Everett Sloane
as Caryl Fergusson
Phil Harris
as Chic Wymore
Keenan Wynn
as Harry Silver
Peter Lorre
as Morgan Heywood
John Carradine
as Bruce Alden
Hans Conried
as Prof. MuleRRR
Phil Foster
as Himself
Richard Deacon
as Sy Devore
Neil Hamilton
as Barber
Scatman Crothers
as Shoeshine Boy
Del Moore
as Police Officer
Nancy Kulp
as Theatergoer
Fritz Feld
as Maitre D'
Jerome Cowan
as Executive
Henry Slate
as Paul
Herbie Faye
as Tailor
Isabelle Dwan
as Elderly Lady
Jerry Hausner
as Floorman
Joan Swift
as Girl
John Gallaudet
as Barney
June Smaney
as Pedicurist
Lorraine Crawford
as Manicurist
Mabel Smaney
as Woman in Phone Booth
Norman Alden
as Bully at Gym
Peggy Mondo
as Bowler
Quinn O'Hara
as Cigarette Girl
Richard Bakalyan
as Boys at Dance
Sherwood Price
as Bellboy
Mantan Moreland
as Barbershop Porter
Gavin Gordon
as Executive on Golf Course
Hedda Hopper
as Herself
Norman Leavitt
as Newsboy
Harry V. Cheshire
as Police Sergeant
Mel Tormé
as Himself
Billy Beck
as Band Member
Buddy Lester
as M.C.
Darlene Lucht
as Checkroom Girl
Dave Lipp
as Frozen-Stare Man
Dave Willock
as Alex
George Raft
as Himself
Jack Albertson
as Man
Ed Wynn
as Himself
Eddie Ryder
as People at Party
Kathleen Freeman
as Katie

Crew

Jerry Lewis
Director
Jerry Lewis
Screenwriter
David Raksin
Composer (Music Score)
Hal Pereira
Art Director
Cary O'Dell
Art Director
Ray Moyer
Set Designer
Sam Comer
Set Designer
Edith Head
Costume Designer
Hugo Grenzbach
Sound/Sound Designer
Charles Grenzbach
Sound/Sound Designer
Ralph Axness
First Assistant Director
Wally Westmore
Makeup
Advertisement