Share

FULL SYNOPSIS

Twenty acclaimed filmmakers from around the world look at love in the City of Lights in this omnibus feature. Paris, Je T'Aime features 18 short stories, each set in a different part of Paris and each featuring a different cast and director (two segments were produced by two filmmakers in collaboration). In "Faubourg Saint-Denis," [[Performer~P222772~Tom Tykwer~tomtykwer]] directs [[Performer~P197461~Natalie Portman~natalieportman]] as an American actress who is the object of affection for a blind student ([[Performer~P475414~Melchior Belson~melchiorbeslon]]). [[Performer~P88185~Christopher Doyle~christopherdoyle]]'s "Porte de Choisy" follows a salesman ([[Performer~P110382~Barbet Schroeder~barbetschroeder]]) as he tries to pitch beauty aids in Chinatown. [[Performer~P52916~Nick Nolte~nicknolte]] and [[Performer~P62607~Ludivine Sagnier~ludivinesagnier]] are father and daughter in "Parc Monceau" from [[Performer~P86327~Alfonso Cuarón~alfonsocuarón]]. Animator [[Performer~P271272~Sylvain Chomet~sylvainchomet]] turns his eye to a pair of living, breathing mimes in "Tour Eiffel." An interracial romance in France is offered by [[Performer~P166460~Gurinder Chadha~gurinderchadha]] in "Quais de Seine." In "Le Marais" from [[Performer~P115102~Gus Van Sant~gusvansant]], a man ([[Performer~P322055~Gaspard Ulliel~gaspardulliel]]) finds himself falling for a handsome gent ([[Performer~P361725~Elias McConnell~eliasmcconnell]]) who works in a print shop. [[Performer~P204197~Isabel Coixet~isabelcoixet]] tells the tale of a man ([[Performer~P84437~Sergio Castellitto~sergiocastellitto]]) who is making his final choice between his wife ([[Performer~P60083~Miranda Richardson~mirandarichardson]]) and his lover ([[Performer~P240881~Leonor Watling~leonorwatling]]) in "Bastille." [[Performer~P6261~Juliette Binoche~juliettebinoche]] plays a grieving mother in [[Performer~P222695~Nobuhiro Suwa~nobuhirosuwa]]'s "Place des Victoires," in which she's greeted by a spectral cowboy ([[Performer~P16547~Willem Dafoe~willemdafoe]]). [[Performer~P98397~Richard LaGravanese~richardlagravenese]]'s "Pigalle" finds a long-married man ([[Performer~P33185~Bob Hoskins~bobhoskins]]) turning to a prostitute for advice on pleasing his wife ([[Performer~P2121~Fanny Ardant~fannyardant]]). [[Performer~P87517~Gérard Depardieu~gérarddepardieu]] and [[Performer~P130934~Frédéric Auburtin~frédéricauburtin]] direct [[Performer~P61889~Gena Rowlands~genarowlands]] and [[Performer~P26259~Ben Gazzara~bengazzara]] as longtime marrieds meeting for one final pre-divorce encounter in "Quartier Latin." [[Performer~P9838~Steve Buscemi~stevebuscemi]] learns a lesson about local etiquette in the Paris Metro in "Tuileries" from [[Performer~P85375~Joel~joelcoen]] and [[Performer~P85372~Ethan Coen~ethancoen]]. In "Loin du 16ème" by [[Performer~P109635~Walter Salles~waltersallesjr]], a housekeeper ([[Performer~P385916~Catalina Sandino Moreno~catalinasandinomoreno]]) longs for her own child as she tends to the infant of her wealthy employer. [[Performer~P77309~Elijah Wood~elijahwood]] stars in "Quartier de la Madeleine," a vampire tale from [[Performer~P234237~Vincenzo Natali~vincenzonatali]]. [[Performer~P86179~Wes Craven~wescraven]] presents another fantasy in "Père-Lachaise," in which an engaged young man ([[Performer~P64649~Rufus Sewell~rufussewell]]) receives romantic advice from the spirit of [[Performer~P218880~Oscar Wilde~oscarwilde]] ([[Performer~P105871~Alex Payne~alexanderpayne]]). A postal worker from Colorado ([[Performer~P46058~Margo Martindale~margomartindale]]) shares her thoughts on her visit to Paris in mangled French in [[Performer~P105871~Alexander Payne~alexanderpayne]]'s witty "14th Arrondissement." Other segments include "Place des Fêtes" from [[Performer~P110269~Oliver Schmitz~oliverschmitz]], [[Performer~P242090~Bruno Podalydès~brunopodalydès]]' "Montmartre," and "Quartier des Enfants Rouges" by [[Performer~P80105~Olivier Assayas~olivierassayas]], which stars [[Performer~P29409~Maggie Gyllenhaal~maggiegyllenhaal]]. Paris, Je T'Aime received its world premiere at the 2006 Cannes Film Festival. ~ Mark Deming, Rovi

  • Release date:May 4, 2007

Crew

Bruno Podalydès
Director
Ethan Coen
Director
Alfonso Cuarón
Director
Vincenzo Natali
Director
Wes Craven
Director
Nobuhiro Suwa
Director
Gus Van Sant
Director
Oliver Schmitz
Director
Joel Coen
Director
Richard LaGravenese
Director
Olivier Assayas
Director
Christopher Doyle
Director
Walter Salles, Jr.
Director
Tom Tykwer
Director
Gurinder Chadha
Director
Daniela Thomas
Director
Gérard Depardieu
Director
Alexander Payne
Director
Frédéric Auburtin
Director
Sylvain Chomet
Director
Isabel Coixet
Director
Emmanuel Benbihy
Producer
Claudie Ossard
Producer
Pierre Adenot
Composer (Music Score)
Bettina von den Steinen
Production Designer
Stefan Piech
Co-producer
Burkhard Von Schenk
Co-producer
Matthias Batthyany
Co-producer
Henry Jacob
Associate Producer
Rafi Chaudry
Executive Producer
Vincent Tulli
Sound/Sound Designer
Maria Kopf
Co-Executive Producer
Chris Bolzli
Co-Executive Producer
Chad Troutwine
Co-Executive Producer
Frédéric Auburtin
Sequence Director
Frédéric Auburtin
Supervising Editor
Ara Katz
Co-Executive Producer
Gilles Caussade
Co-Executive Producer
Sam Englebardt
Co-Executive Producer
Advertisement

Other movies like this