Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

The Paradine Case Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

Based on a novel by [[Performer~P217486~Robert Hichens~roberthichens]], The Paradine Case concerns Anna Paradine ([[Performer~P72697~Alida Valli~alidavalli]]), on trial for the murder of her wealthy husband. British barrister Anthony Keane (played by the aggressively American [[Performer~P55747~Gregory Peck~gregorypeck]]) takes on the case-and in the process, falls in love with Anna, despite being married himself. Despite his client's protests, Keane summons Anna's lover, unkempt stableman Andre Latour ([[Performer~P36383~Louis Jourdan~louisjourdan]]), hoping to prove in court that Latour was the killer. Only after a series of stunning upsets does Keane realize that, for the first time in his career, he has allowed his heart to rule his head. In a typically perverse [[Performer~P94487~Hitchcockian~alfredhitchcock]] development, the film's most unpleasant character, an autocratic, vindictive judge played by [[Performer~P98862~Charles Laughton~charleslaughton]], is one of the few who can see through Anna's facade. [[Performer~P94487~Hitchcock~alfredhitchcock]] had wanted [[Performer~P25821~Greta Garbo~gretagarbo]] to play Anna Paradine, and indeed a screen test was filmed, but [[Performer~P25821~Garbo~gretagarbo]] ultimately declined. At the time of filming, [[Performer~P94487~Hitchcock~alfredhitchcock]] was enamored with uninterrupted, 10-minute takes (later used to the extreme in [[Feature~V42101~Rope~rope]]); thus, the Old Bailey courtroom set where much of the action takes place was designed to accommodate multiple cameras and elaborately conceived crane movements. Such techniques were cumbersome in 1947, and as a result the over-illuminated set ended up costing $70,000, jacking up the film's overall budget to a whopping $3 million (quite a pretty penny in those days). The film was a box-office disappointment, spelling the end of the always-rocky association between [[Performer~P94487~Alfred Hitchcock~alfredhitchcock]] and producer [[Performer~P110766~David O. Selznick~davidoselznick]]. ~ Hal Erickson, Rovi

  • Release date:December 31, 1947

Awards

Awarded by
Nominee
Category
Year
Status
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Ethel Barrymore Best Supporting Actress 1947 Nominee

Cast

Gregory Peck
as Anthony Keane
Charles Laughton
as Judge Horfield
Charles Coburn
as Sir Simon Flaquer
Louis Jourdan
as Andre Latour
Ethel Barrymore
as Sophie Horfield
Alida Valli
as Maddalena/Anna Paradine
Leo G. Carroll
as Council for the Prosecution
Joan Tetzel
as Judy Flaquer
Isobel Elsom
as Innkeeper
Lester Matthews
Alfred Hitchcock
as Man Carrying a Cello

Crew

Alfred Hitchcock
Director
David O. Selznick
Producer
James Bridie
Screenwriter
David O. Selznick
Screenwriter
Robert Hichens
Book Author
Alma Reville
Screenwriter
Lee Garmes
Cinematographer
Franz Waxman
Composer (Music Score)
Hal Kern
Editor
Tom Morahan
Art Director
Emile Kuri
Set Designer
Travis Banton
Costume Designer
Clarence Slifer
Special Effects
Advertisement