Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

Oscar and Lucinda Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

Australian director [[Performer~P79948~Gillian Armstrong~gillianarmstrong]] directed this [[Performer~P96338~Laura Jones~laurajones]] adaptation of [[Performer~P84151~Peter Carey~petercarey]]'s 1988 Booker Prize-winning novel. In a lengthy flashback, Oscar Hopkins' great grandson ([[Performer~P151418~Geoffrey Rush~geoffreyrush]]) narrates the family history that led to his birth. On an Australian farm, Lucinda Leplastrier was tutored by her intelligent mother, a woman who took part in the early feminist movement. Oscar's lonely boyhood in rural England was under the watchful eye of his preacher father. At Oxford to train as a minister, the adult Oscar ([[Performer~P23390~Ralph Fiennes~ralphfiennes]]) feels he doesn't fit in and develops a passion for gambling, giving his winnings away to the poor. Oscar and Lucinda ([[Performer~P215038~Cate Blanchett~cateblanchett]]) meet aboard a ship; he's off to the outback to work as a missionary, and she's returning from London after buying equipment for her glass factory. As mutual misfits, they have an instant attraction and quickly grow close, developing a romantic relationship based on trust. However, the Rev. Dennis Hasset ([[Performer~P32429~Ciarán Hinds~ciaránhinds]]) and Lucinda are friends, sharing an interest in glass. Convinced they are in love, Oscar embarks on an unusual and difficult task, building a glass church for the reverend, an ambitious project to attempt in the remote wilderness. ~ Bhob Stewart, Rovi

Awards

Awarded by
Nominee
Category
Year
Status
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Janet Patterson Best Costume Design 1997 Nominee

Cast

Ralph Fiennes
as Oscar Hopkins
Cate Blanchett
as Lucinda Leplastrier
Ciarán Hinds
as Rev. Dennis Hasset
Tom Wilkinson
as Hugh Stratton
Richard Roxburgh
as Mr. Jeffris
Clive Russell
as Theophilus
Josephine Byrnes
as Miriam Chadwick
Barnaby Kay
as Wardley-Fish
Barry Otto
as Jimmy D'Abbs
Geoffrey Rush
as Narrator

Crew

Gillian Armstrong
Director
Robin Dalton
Producer
Timothy White
Producer
Laura Jones
Screenwriter
Peter Carey
Book Author
Geoffrey Simpson
Cinematographer
Thomas Newman
Composer (Music Score)
Nicholas Beauman
Editor
Luciana Arrighi
Production Designer
John Wingrove
Art Director
Paul Ghiradani
Art Director
Tom Nursey
Art Director
John Ralph
Art Director
Mark Turnbull
Associate Producer
Sally Campbell
Set Designer
Janet Patterson
Costume Designer
Ben Osmo
Sound/Sound Designer
Andrew Plain
Sound/Sound Designer
Mark Egerton
First Assistant Director
Mark Turnbull
First Assistant Director
Russell Boyd
Camera Operator
Kathleen Mackie
Casting
Alison Barrett
Casting
Nigel Kirton
Second Unit Director Of Photography
Advertisement