Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

Opportunity Knocks Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

[[Feature~V175321~Saturday Night Live~saturdaynightlive[tvseries]]] star [[Performer~P11499~Dana Carvey~danacarvey]] had his first leading role on the big screen in this comedy. Eddie ([[Performer~P11499~Carvey~danacarvey]]) and Lou ([[Performer~P28071~Todd Graff~toddgraff]]) are a pair of small-time con artists deep in debt to Pinkie ([[Performer~P3118~Mike Bacarella~mikebacarella]]), a loan shark. During a lean period, Eddie and Lou resort to breaking and entering to make some money, but as they're clearing out a house, they overhear the answering machine announce that the owner is away on business for a few weeks -- and the housesitter won't be able to stop by. Eddie and Lou settle in and enjoy their good fortune, which just gets better when Milt ([[Performer~P42988~Robert Loggia~robertloggia]]) pays a visit. Milt assumes that Eddie is the housesitter, who is a close friend of his son. Eddie is soon introduced to Milt's beautiful daughter, Annie ([[Performer~P10514~Julia Campbell~juliacampbell]]), and Milt decides that Eddie is executive material at his successful manufacturing firm. Soon Eddie starts to wonder if he should go on lying to the people he's come to like -- and there's the little matter of the 60,000 dollars that Eddie and Lou swiped from Pinkie's car. Opportunity Knocks also features [[Performer~P53656~Milo O'Shea~milooshea]] and [[Performer~P71229~James Tolkan~jamestolkan]]. ~ Mark Deming, Rovi

  • Release date:March 30, 1990

Cast

Dana Carvey
as Eddie Farrell
Robert Loggia
as Milt Malkin
Todd Graff
as Lou Pasquino
Julia Campbell
as Annie Malkin
Milo O'Shea
as Max
James Tolkan
as Sal Nichols
Doris Belack
as Mona
Sally Gracie
as Connie
Mike Bacarella
as Pinkie
John M. Watson, Sr.
as Harold Monroe
Beatrice Fredman
as Bubbie
Thomas McElroy
as Men's Room Attendant
Jack McLaughlin-Gray
as Wine Steward
Gene Honda
as Japanese Businessman
Del Close
as Williamson
Michael Oppenheimer
as Chase
Paul Greatbatch
as Driver
Sarajane Avidon
as Commissioner's Secretary
Mindy Suzanne Bell
as Executive
Michelle Johnston
as Club Singer
Michelle Quigley
as Woman at Accident
James Hassett
as Vendor
Jed Mills
as Club MC
Jill Shellabarger
as Ginger
Joshua Livingstone
as Nathan
Judith Scott
as Milt's Secretary
Kent Logsdon
as Sales Associate
Mark Hutter
as Stan
Paul Dallas
as Bar Mitzvah Band
Peter Hennes
as Bar Mitzvah Band
Randy Harrah
as Bar Mitzvah Band
Rebecca Cagen
as Bar Mitzvah Band
Ron Max
as Sal's Associate
John Cothran, Jr.
as Building Commissioner
Steven Zoloto
as Bar Mitzvah Band
Tal Galomb
as Bar Mitzvah Boy
Don Cagen
as Bar Mitzvah Band

Crew

Donald Petrie
Director
Ray Hartwick
Producer
Christopher Meledandri
Producer
Nat Bernstein
Screenwriter
Mitchel Katlin
Screenwriter
Steven Poster
Cinematographer
Miles Goodman
Composer (Music Score)
Becky Mancuso
Musical Direction/Supervision
Timothy R. Sexton
Musical Direction/Supervision
Virginia Katz
Editor
Marion Rothman
Editor
David Chapman
Production Designer
Leslie Pope
Art Director
Derek R. Hill
Set Designer
Nan Cibula
Costume Designer
Jeffery Hornaday
Choreography
Rodger Jacobs
Makeup
Advertisement