Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

Open City Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

[[Performer~P109008~Roberto Rossellini~robertorossellini]]'s Roma, Città Aperta (known in English as Open City) was one of the landmark films of the 1940s on several levels. Aesthetically, it was one of the first major works of Italian neorealist filmmaking and perhaps the single most influential example of the style. Historically, it was among the first postwar European films to gain a significant audience in the United States, opening the door for a greater appreciation of international filmmaking in America. And politically, it was a work of tremendous bravery. The screenplay was written by [[Performer~P109008~Roberto Rossellini~robertorossellini]] in association with [[Performer~P89547~Federico Fellini~federicofellini]] and [[Performer~P168816~Sergio Amidei~sergioamidei]] while Rome was still occupied by German forces in 1943-44. [[Performer~P109008~Rossellini~robertorossellini]] began filming in secret, using scavenged film stock without sound equipment, shortly before the city was liberated in June of 1944. Several key members of his creative team had been active in the Italian resistance movement. With its rough, documentary-style look, multi-layered narrative, and a cast that mixed amateurs with actors who didn't look like film stars, Roma, Città Aperta captured the harsh and unforgiving textures of real life as few movies of its time had dared. It set the pace for Italian Neorealism as an influential postwar film style that combined outdoor light and location shooting with non-actors, a focus on simple stories of everyday life, and a concern for the poor and for social problems. Roma, Città Aperta shows the lives of a group of people living in Rome during the Nazi occupation, after the Germans had declared it an "open city." [[Performer~P100751~Anna Magnani~annamagnani]] plays a woman in love with a member of a resistance group; in helping him, she risks not only her own life, but also that of her unborn child. [[Performer~P22447~Aldo Fabrizi~aldofabrizi]] plays a priest who aids the anti-Nazi cause and pays dearly for his activism. [[Performer~P105379~Marcello Pagliero~marcellopagliero]] is an outspoken communist who runs afoul of the Nazis. And [[Performer~P22977~Harry Feist~harryfeist]] plays a German officer who has taken an Italian lover, but whose affection for Romans does not run especially deep. While Roma, Città Aperta shows flashes of the melodramatic sentimentality that would mark much of [[Performer~P109008~Rossellini~robertorossellini]]'s later work, it still rings true as a chronicle of a city under siege and as the genesis of a powerful new film style whose influences include such later filmmakers, among many others, as [[Performer~P84410~John Cassavetes~johncassavetes]], [[Performer~P110533~Martin Scorsese~martinscorsese]], [[Performer~P79456~Robert Altman~robertaltman]], and [[Performer~P99175~Spike Lee~spikelee]]. ~ Mark Deming, Rovi

  • Release date:March 7, 2014

Awards

Awarded by
Nominee
Category
Year
Status
National Board of Review Anna Magnani Best Actress 1946 Winner
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Federico Fellini Best Screenplay 1946 Nominee
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Sergio Amidei Best Screenplay 1946 Nominee

Cast

Vito Annicchiarico
as Marcello
Nando Bruno
as Agostino
Aldo Fabrizi
as Don Pietro Pellegrini
Harry Feist
as Capt. Bergmann
Anna Magnani
as Pina
Giovanna Galletti
as Ingrid
Maria Michi
as Marina Mari
Marcello Pagliero
as Giorgio Manfredi
Carla Revere
as Lauretta
Akos Tolnay
as Austrian Deserter

Crew

Roberto Rossellini
Director
Roberto Rossellini
Producer
Roberto Rossellini
Screenwriter
Sergio Amidei
Screenwriter
Federico Fellini
Screenwriter
Ubaldo Arata
Cinematographer
Renzo Rossellini
Composer (Music Score)
Eraldo Da Roma
Editor
Pietro DiDonato
Editor
Alberto Consiglio
Short Story Author
Advertisement