Share

Watch It

On DVD: TBD | On Blu-ray: TBD

The One Percent Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

Filmmaker [[Performer~P353204~Jamie Johnson~jamiejohnson]] examines the growing divide between the wealthy and the poor in America in this documentary. [[Performer~P353204~Johnson~jamiejohnson]], an heir to the Johnson & Johnson fortune, interviews a number of America's richest people (including Apple Computers' [[Performer~P353058~Steve Forbes~steveforbes]] and Kinko's founder [[Performer~P477629~Paul Orfalea~paulorfalea]]) and asks them about the inherent dangers of having the majority of America's money in the hands of less than one percent of its citizens. [[Performer~P353204~Johnson~jamiejohnson]] also discusses the economic and societal pitfalls of our current economic imbalance with noted economist [[Performer~P380557~Milton Friedman~miltonfriedman]], former labor secretary [[Performer~P292383~Robert Reich~robertreich]], and activist [[Performer~P290523~Ralph Nader~ralphnader]]. Finally, [[Performer~P353204~Johnson~jamiejohnson]] looks to the other side of the fence as he interviews cab drivers, farm workers, and the residents of a Chicago housing project on the day-to-day realities of poverty in the 21st century. The One Percent received its world premier at the 2006 Tribeca Film Festival. ~ Mark Deming, Rovi

Advertisement