Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: Now

One Hour Photo Details


Funnyman Robin Williams steps out of character in this tense, low-key thriller that marked the feature-film directorial debut of music video veteran Mark Romanek. Semour "Sy" Parrish (Williams) runs the photo processing department at a large discount store; Sy is dedicated to his job, and takes great pride in his work. Sy's favorite customers are Nina and Will Yorkin (Connie Nielsen and Michael Vartan), an attractive and cheerful young couple with a nine-year-old boy, Jake (Dylan Smith). Sy dotes on the Yorkins and their son whenever they drop off film to be processed -- something they've been doing quite often ever since Jake was born -- and Nina and Will are indulgent of Sy's attentions, regarding his as a harmless eccentric. What the Yorkins don't know is Sy is a desperately lonely man with no real life of his own, and he's been obsessively making copies of their photos, for years, imagining himself to be "Uncle Sy," a member of the family. Sy's tenuous hold on reality begins to collapse when he develops a roll of film brought in by a new customer that suggests Will has been unfaithful to Nina; the notion that his ideal family may be falling apart is troubling enough for Sy, and when he loses his job, Sy reaches the breaking point. One Hour Photo was screened in competition at the 2002 Sundance Film Festival. ~ Mark Deming, Rovi

  • Release date:August 21, 2002


Awarded by
Broadcast Film Critics Association Robin Williams Best Actor 2002 Nominee
Broadcast Film Critics Association Robin Williams Best Actor 2003 Nominee


Robin Williams
as Seymour "Sy" Parrish
Connie Nielsen
as Nina Yorkin
Michael Vartan
as Will Yorkin
Gary Cole
as Bill Owens
Dylan Smith
as Jake Yorkin
Eriq La Salle
as Detective Van Der Zee
Erin Daniels
as Maya Burson


Mark Romanek
Stan Wlodkowski
Pamela Koffler
Christine Vachon
Mark Romanek
Jeff Cronenweth
Reinhold Heil
Composer (Music Score)
Johnny Klimek
Composer (Music Score)
Chris Douridas
Musical Direction/Supervision
Tom Foden
Production Designer
Jeremy Barber
Executive Producer
John Wells
Executive Producer
Arianne Phillips
Costume Designer