Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

One Bright Shining Moment: The Forgotten Summer of George McGovern Details

  • Release Date: Sep 16, 2005
  • Rated:
  • Runtime: 2 hr. 3 min.
  • Genres: Biography, Culture & Society, History, Politics & Government, Social History
  • Director:Stephen Vittoria
  • Cast:Amy Goodman.

FULL SYNOPSIS

In the spring and summer of 1972, [[Performer~P228564~George McGovern~georgemcgovern]], a Democratic senator from South Dakota, achieved the seemingly impossible. Backed by a motley collection of Prairie populists, old-school liberals, and young people disenchanted with the war in Vietnam, [[Performer~P228564~McGovern~georgemcgovern]] overwhelmed longtime party favorites such as [[Performer~P123598~Hubert Humphrey~huberthumphrey]] and [[Performer~P291426~Edmund Muskie~edmundmuskie]] to win the Democratic nomination for the presidency of the United States. However, [[Performer~P228564~McGovern~georgemcgovern]]'s triumph proved to be short-lived; after his initial running mate, Thomas Eagleton, was revealed to have a history of mental illness, the [[Performer~P228564~McGovern~georgemcgovern]] campaign went into a tailspin from which it would never recover, with the incumbent [[Performer~P52812~Richard Nixon~richardmnixon]] winning the 1972 election by a landslide. However, [[Performer~P228564~McGovern~georgemcgovern]]'s campaign is still remembered by many as one of the last examples of a candidate truly triumphing through the will of the people rather than working the party political machine, and given the scandalous downfall of [[Performer~P52812~Nixon~richardmnixon]] following his re-election, many have wondered what America would be like today if [[Performer~P228564~McGovern~georgemcgovern]], once described by [[Performer~P392351~Robert F. Kennedy~robertfkennedy]] as "the most decent man in the Senate," had won. One Bright Shining Moment: The Forgotten Summer of George McGovern is a documentary which looks back at the [[Performer~P228564~McGovern~georgemcgovern]] campaign and explores what went right, what went wrong, and what was [[Performer~P228564~McGovern~georgemcgovern]]'s true legacy. The film includes interviews with [[Performer~P380579~Howard Zinn~howardzinn]], [[Performer~P67914~Gloria Steinem~gloriasteinem]], [[Performer~P367879~Gary Hart~garyhart]], [[Performer~P237553~Frank Mankiewicz~frankmankiewicz]], [[Performer~P81105~Warren Beatty~warrenbeatty]], [[Performer~P115406~Gore Vidal~gorevidal]], [[Performer~P98010~Ron Kovic~ronkovic]], and [[Performer~P228564~McGovern~georgemcgovern]] himself. ~ Mark Deming, Rovi

  • Release date:September 16, 2005

Cast

Amy Goodman
as Narrator

Crew

Stephen Vittoria
Director
Frank Fischer
Producer
Stephen Vittoria
Producer
Stephen Vittoria
Screenwriter
Frank Cottrell Boyce
Screenwriter
Gilbert Yousefian
Cinematographer
Patrick Kelly
Cinematographer
Leon Russell
Featured Music
Donovan
Featured Music
Bob Dylan
Featured Music
Elvis Costello
Featured Music
Robbie Robertson
Featured Music
Michael Donaldson
Executive Producer
Advertisement