Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

On the Town Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

Three sailors on a 24-hour pass -- Gabey ([[Performer~P97107~Gene Kelly~genekelly]]), Chip ([[Performer~P111632~Frank Sinatra~franksinatra]]), and Ozzie ([[Performer~P51358~Jules Munshin~julesmunshin]]) -- decide to soak up the sights and sounds of New York. Each one finds romance within those 24 hours: Gabey with aspiring dancer Ivy Smith ([[Performer~P73296~Vera-Ellen~veraellen]]), Chip with lady cabbie Hildy Esterhazy ([[Performer~P26020~Betty Garrett~bettygarrett]]), and Ozzie with paleontology student Claire Huddesten ([[Performer~P49184~Ann Miller~annmiller]]). That's all, right? Wellll....Ivy passes herself off as a celebrity, but she's actually a kootch dancer in Coney Island. Claire and the boys inadvertently topple a dinosaur replica at the Museum of Anthropological History. And Hildy breaks any number of speeding laws attempting to get the lovers together and straighten out all misunderstandings. Adapted from the Broadway musical by [[Performer~P85609~Betty Comden~bettycomden]], [[Performer~P92415~Adolph Green~adolphgreen]], and [[Performer~P81651~Leonard Bernstein~leonardbernstein]], On the Town is one of the freshest, most exhilarating musicals turned out by the old MGM regime. The stars' verve and camaraderie are contagious, and the songs are staged by legendary musical director [[Performer~P88027~Stanley Donen~stanleydonen]] and [[Performer~P97107~Kelly~genekelly]] himself with wit and innovation. Highlights include the opening "New York, New York" number, shot on location and flat-cutting from one image to another at a dizzying pace, and [[Performer~P97107~Gene Kelly~genekelly]] and [[Performer~P73296~Vera-Ellen~veraellen]]'s ""Miss Turnstyles Ballet."" ~ Hal Erickson, Rovi

  • Release date:December 8, 1949

Awards

Awarded by
Nominee
Category
Year
Status
British Academy of Film and Television Arts Gene Kelly Best Film - Any Source 1950 Nominee
British Academy of Film and Television Arts Stanley Donen Best Film - Any Source 1950 Nominee

Cast

Gene Kelly
as Gabey
Frank Sinatra
as Chip
Betty Garrett
as Brunhilde Esterhazy
Ann Miller
as Claire Huddesen
Jules Munshin
as Ozzie
Vera-Ellen
as Ivy Smith
Florence Bates
as Mme. Dilyovska
Alice Pearce
as Lucy Shmeeler
George Meader
as Professor
Frank S. Hagney
as Cop
Don Brodie
as Photo Layout Man
Dick Wessel
as Sailor Simpkins
Judy Holliday
as Sailor's Date
Hans Conried
as Francois, headwaiter
Claire Carleton
as Redhead
Carol Haney
as Dancer in Green
Eugene Borden
as Waiter
Bern Hoffman
as Worker, "New York, New York"
Lester Dorr
as Subway Passenger
Bea Benaderet
as Working Girl
Tom Dugan
as Officer Tracy
William "Bill" Phillips
as Sailor
Murray Alper
as Cab Company Owner
Alex Romero
Sid Melton
as Spud

Crew

Gene Kelly
Director
Stanley Donen
Director
Arthur Freed
Producer
Adolph Green
Screenwriter
Adolph Green
Play Author
Jerome Robbins
Play Author
Betty Comden
Screenwriter
Betty Comden
Play Author
Harold Hal Rosson
Cinematographer
Leonard Bernstein
Composer (Music Score)
Saul Chaplin
Composer (Music Score)
Conrad Salinger
Composer (Music Score)
Ralph Winters
Editor
Cedric Gibbons
Art Director
Jack Martin Smith
Art Director
Edwin B. Willis
Set Designer
Helen Rose
Costume Designer
Warren Newcombe
Special Effects
Stanley Donen
Choreography
Gene Kelly
Choreography
Sydney Guilaroff
Makeup
Jack Dawn
Makeup
Advertisement