Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: Now

The Odessa File Details


The Odessa File is set in Hamburg in the winter of 1963. Jon Voight plays Peter Miller, a German reporter who is investigating the whereabouts of missing Nazi war criminals. After reading the diary of a Holocaust survivor who has recently committed suicide, Miller goes on the trail of in-hiding SS officer Eduard Roschmann (Maximilian Schell). The reporter finds his investigation blocked by members of a secretive group called Odessa. With the help of Israeli activists, Miller persists in his search. Schell's sister Maria also appears in The Odessa File as Miller's mother, the widow of a German soldier. Based on a nailbiting novel by Frederick Forsyth, The Odessa File is highlighted by the exquisitely Teutonic score of Andrew Lloyd Webber. ~ Hal Erickson, Rovi


Jon Voight
as Peter Miller
Maximilian Schell
as Eduard Roschmann
Maria Schell
as Frau Miller
Mary Tamm
as Sigi
Derek Jacobi
as Klaus Wenzer
Shmuel Rodensky
as Simon Wiesenthal
Heinz Ehrenfreund
as Shapira
Cyril Shaps
as Tauber
Günter Meisner
as Gen. Greifer
Til Kiwe
as Medal Shop Proprietor
Garfield Morgan
as Israeli General
Towje Kleiner
as Solomon Tauber
Kurt Meisel
as Oster
Werner Bruhns
as Magazine Publisher Hoffmann
Elisabeth Neumann-Viertel
as Frau Wenzer
Noel Willman
as Franz Bayer
Ernst Schroeder
as Werner Deilman
Gunnar Moeller
as Karl Braun
Klaus Löwitsch
as Gustav MacKensen
Martin Brandt
as Marx
Georg Marischka
as Lawyer
Peter Jeffrey
as David Porath
Hannes Messemer
as Gen. Glocks


Ronald Neame
John Woolf
Frederick Forsyth
Book Author
George Markstein
Kenneth Ross
Oswald Morris
Andre Heller
Andrew Lloyd Webber
Composer (Music Score)
Rolf Zehetbauer
Production Designer
Monika Bauert
Costume Designer
Derek Ball
Sound/Sound Designer
Tim Rice