Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

The Object of My Affection Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

[[Performer~P95334~Nicholas Hytner~nicholashytner]] ([[Feature~V136702~The Crucible~thecrucible]]) directed this [[Performer~P238671~Wendy Wasserstein~wendywasserstein]] screenplay, adapted from Stephen McCauley's novel, about the romantic mismatch of a gay man and a young pregnant woman. When literary agent Sidney Miller ([[Performer~P79264~Alan Alda~alanalda]]) and his wife Constance ([[Performer~P199091~Allison Janney~allisonjanney]]) have a dinner party, Constance's social-worker stepsister Nina Borowski ([[Performer~P1831~Jennifer Aniston~jenniferaniston]]) attends without her lawyer boyfriend Vince McBride ([[Performer~P54909~John Pankow~johnpankow]]). Also present are gay schoolteacher George Hanson ([[Performer~P225541~Paul Rudd~paulrudd]]) and his lover, Dr. Robert Joley ([[Performer~P16711~Tim Daly~timdaly]]). George learns from Nina that he's being dumped by Robert, a scene ensues, and Nina then invites George to stay in the spare room of her Brooklyn apartment. Nina still has sex with boyfriend Vince, but during late-night talks, she begins to bond with her gay roommate. Nina and George take dance lessons at the local senior citizen's community center, and Gershwin's "You Were Meant for Me" sets the tone for romance as the two become soul mates. Unfortunately, shortly after their love blooms, Nina learns she's pregnant by Vince, who is no longer the object of her affections. Instead of telling the unwanted Vince right away, Nina asks George to join her in raising the child. George stays on, but in the months that follow, he also begins to see men again. Robert takes him along to a Connecticut conference where drama critic Rodney Fraser ([[Performer~P31147~Nigel Hawthorne~nigelhawthorne]]) has Paul James ([[Performer~P237435~Amo Gulinello~amogulinello]]) in tow. George and Paul have an instant attraction, and this prompts everyone involved to reassess their emotional commitments. ~ Bhob Stewart, Rovi

  • Release date:October 8, 1998

Cast

Jennifer Aniston
as Nina Borowski
Paul Rudd
as George Hanson
Alan Alda
as Sidney Miller
Nigel Hawthorne
as Rodney Fraser
John Pankow
as Vince McBride
Tim Daly
as Dr. Robert Joley
Allison Janney
as Constance Miller
Steve Zahn
as Frank Hanson
Amo Gulinello
as Paul James
Bruce Altman
as Dr. Goldstein
Kevin Carroll
as Louis Crowley
Samia Shoaib
as Suni

Crew

Nicholas Hytner
Director
Laurence Mark
Producer
Stephen McCauley
Book Author
Oliver Stapleton
Cinematographer
George Fenton
Composer (Music Score)
Tariq Anwar
Editor
Jane Musky
Production Designer
Patricia Woodbridge
Art Director
Diana Pokorny
Co-producer
Petra Alexandria
Associate Producer
Susan Bode-Tyson
Set Designer
John Dunn
Costume Designer
Michael Barosky
Sound/Sound Designer
Sam Hoffman
First Assistant Director
Daniel Swee
Casting
Advertisement